![]() |
|
|
|||
Thank you Tjones. I was more correct in this debate than he was. I said that since A had control, you give it back to them, but I wasn't sure if you could still grant them the time out. He said you go to the arrow and then grant the time out.
thanks again! |
|
|||
Quote:
I actually just remembered a few minutes ago that i had this very same situation my first season as a basketball official. The one very small detail that makes it slightly different is that I heard B's head coach call time out before the ball was placed in bounds by A, and I was a little slow to blowing the whistle and granting the time out. A got the ball in just as I was blowing the whistle. Then, I didn't know how to explain the situation to A's head coach but I got it right anyways. Granted B the time out, and gave A the ball out-of-bounds after the play. I just can't remember if I gave A the baseline to run or not, as it was an in-bound play at the baseline after a made basket in a very close game. |
|
|||
You bring up a good point. There have been a whole slew of postings here lately where perfectly reasonable officials, for no explainable reason, want to solve whatever quandary they have gotten themselves into...by going to the arrow.
If I were king of basketball, I think I'd take the arrow away until these folks learned how to properly solve the 99% of situations that resume using POI or some means other than the arrow. Then maybe, and only maybe, I'd give it back. ![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Does that make better sense? |
|
|||
Quote:
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official; or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In (b), an accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a) |
|
|||
Quote:
Does anyone actually read all of the case book though? Some of these situations are almost never to happen. |
|
|||
Those of us who have been around for several years have spent many hours reading through that book. Some of us have even authored a few of the play situations. So, yes, we are aware of everything which is in it and have read the whole thing.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Thanks.
I like your signature btw. That was apparently the case in another game I had this past weekend, where I, as a T, was calling a charge, and a second or two later I hear my partner's whistle go off and he's calling block. I was stunned enough that he did beat me to the table, and I was right in front of the table pretty much haha. Official call: Block. the right call: charge. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Obstruction --- Debate #1,264,894 | wadeintothem | Softball | 19 | Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:36am |
Help settle a debate | pjlyons | Basketball | 13 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 07:45am |
Debate | foxwhistler | Basketball | 18 | Wed Nov 05, 2003 03:09am |
2 man vs. 3 man debate | WindyCityRef | Basketball | 3 | Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:11am |
The Great Debate: The Flop | Brad | Basketball | 21 | Thu Jan 31, 2002 11:59am |