![]() |
|
|
|||
debate between me and another
So I'm ref'ing a JV basketball game today and my partner, before the game, tells me about a game he did last night.
A and B in a JV game. Girls game. B was pressing A, and the ball was taking out on the baseline. My buddy tells me he's the lead on table side, and is at the half court during the pressing. A1 throws the ball into A2 and has control of ball. At this time, my buddy tells me he has heard a coach yell "time out" and blows his whistle to award the time out. But, when he turns around, he realized it was B's head coach calling the time out and not A, while A had the ball inbound. What do you have? I was debating about this with another referee at the bar tonight, and he said that it is an inadvertent (spelling) whistle and that you go to the arrow. I disagree because A had control of the ball, thus should still possess the ball in their control. But, do you then give B their time-out because the clock is dead and the ball shall be taken out of bounds? I'm confused, and I didn't get a chance to look it up in the rule book under NFHS rules. |
|
|||
Ok, but who gets the ball... A or do you go to arrow?
|
|
|||
Thank you Tjones. I was more correct in this debate than he was. I said that since A had control, you give it back to them, but I wasn't sure if you could still grant them the time out. He said you go to the arrow and then grant the time out.
thanks again! |
|
|||
Quote:
I actually just remembered a few minutes ago that i had this very same situation my first season as a basketball official. The one very small detail that makes it slightly different is that I heard B's head coach call time out before the ball was placed in bounds by A, and I was a little slow to blowing the whistle and granting the time out. A got the ball in just as I was blowing the whistle. Then, I didn't know how to explain the situation to A's head coach but I got it right anyways. Granted B the time out, and gave A the ball out-of-bounds after the play. I just can't remember if I gave A the baseline to run or not, as it was an in-bound play at the baseline after a made basket in a very close game. |
|
|||
Quote:
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official; or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In (b), an accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a) |
|
|||
Quote:
Does anyone actually read all of the case book though? Some of these situations are almost never to happen. |
|
|||
Those of us who have been around for several years have spent many hours reading through that book. Some of us have even authored a few of the play situations. So, yes, we are aware of everything which is in it and have read the whole thing.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes. And the Rule Book. How else are you going to learn? As a new ref (2nd yr.& going through the process of passing wriiten&floor exams to make my board)...I know that the more I read it (and I'll never know it cold) the more I improve in my understanding of the basic tenets of the game. A good example of this is in BITS' reply about proper use of the A/P arrow. Casebook helps you grasp/understand the A/P arrow....not only when/how to use it, but most importantly when NOT to use it. One of the concepts the vets in charge of the 2nd yr. non-certified refs on our board have been hammering into our heads in classes this year is proper use/application and understanding of POI and A/P arrow. Also, as Nevada showed in his reply...the answer to the "knotty problem" in your OP was right in the casebook....no debate as to what was the proper thing to do in the game. |
|
|||
Quote:
If you understand why one of those extremely rare cases is ruled the way it is, then you should have no problem when determining the correct ruling in a related but less rare scenario. The case book is not written to give specific examples of every possible play, but rather to clarify the ruling on situations that can be applied to many other situations you will encounter. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Obstruction --- Debate #1,264,894 | wadeintothem | Softball | 19 | Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:36am |
Help settle a debate | pjlyons | Basketball | 13 | Tue Dec 23, 2003 07:45am |
Debate | foxwhistler | Basketball | 18 | Wed Nov 05, 2003 03:09am |
2 man vs. 3 man debate | WindyCityRef | Basketball | 3 | Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:11am |
The Great Debate: The Flop | Brad | Basketball | 21 | Thu Jan 31, 2002 11:59am |