The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 15, 2009, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
debate between me and another

So I'm ref'ing a JV basketball game today and my partner, before the game, tells me about a game he did last night.

A and B in a JV game. Girls game. B was pressing A, and the ball was taking out on the baseline. My buddy tells me he's the lead on table side, and is at the half court during the pressing. A1 throws the ball into A2 and has control of ball. At this time, my buddy tells me he has heard a coach yell "time out" and blows his whistle to award the time out. But, when he turns around, he realized it was B's head coach calling the time out and not A, while A had the ball inbound. What do you have?

I was debating about this with another referee at the bar tonight, and he said that it is an inadvertent (spelling) whistle and that you go to the arrow. I disagree because A had control of the ball, thus should still possess the ball in their control. But, do you then give B their time-out because the clock is dead and the ball shall be taken out of bounds? I'm confused, and I didn't get a chance to look it up in the rule book under NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 15, 2009, 11:53pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
You would still grant the time-out and the subsequent throw-in spot would be nearest where A2 possessed the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 15, 2009, 11:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
You would still grant the time-out and the subsequent throw-in spot would be nearest where A2 possessed the ball.
Ok, but who gets the ball... A or do you go to arrow?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 15, 2009, 11:55pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Ok, but who gets the ball... A or do you go to arrow?
A gets the ball. No arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 15, 2009, 11:55pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Time-out B. Check out 5.8.3 Situation E

It is still A's ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 12:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Time-out B. Check out 5.8.3 Situation E

It is still A's ball.
Thank you Tjones. I was more correct in this debate than he was. I said that since A had control, you give it back to them, but I wasn't sure if you could still grant them the time out. He said you go to the arrow and then grant the time out.

thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 12:20am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Thank you Tjones. I was more correct in this debate than he was. I said that since A had control, you give it back to them, but I wasn't sure if you could still grant them the time out. He said you go to the arrow and then grant the time out.

thanks again!
Looks to me like you were both 50% right.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 01:36am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
and 50% wrong . no brownie points. only star stickers which kick arse anyways
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 02:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
and 50% wrong . no brownie points. only star stickers which kick arse anyways
Ok... but how would you explain why you would need to go to the arrow? I would have much rather tell the coach "You can't call time out, A had the ball in bound" and then take the ball out of bounds for a throw-in, instead of saying "oh, it goes to the arrow now" and not be able to explain that. I would have been wrong to say that the coach cannot have a time-out since the ball was in play and shall be placed back into play asap unless A wants a time-out (as would have been allowed had the ball still be in play), but would have been right to give the ball back to A. I think I get more "brownie points" for that than my buddy would if he were to go to the arrow. These are the kind of situations you can get into trouble with, especially in a close game with just minutes left.

I actually just remembered a few minutes ago that i had this very same situation my first season as a basketball official. The one very small detail that makes it slightly different is that I heard B's head coach call time out before the ball was placed in bounds by A, and I was a little slow to blowing the whistle and granting the time out. A got the ball in just as I was blowing the whistle. Then, I didn't know how to explain the situation to A's head coach but I got it right anyways. Granted B the time out, and gave A the ball out-of-bounds after the play. I just can't remember if I gave A the baseline to run or not, as it was an in-bound play at the baseline after a made basket in a very close game.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 04:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Time-out B. Check out 5.8.3 Situation E

It is still A's ball.
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
That's exactly my point. You CAN'T explain that. I asked him that question and he gave me some bull**** and said that if he didn't know how to explain it, he would just tell the coach "hey, it's in the rulebook, and I don't make the rules". And yet, he's doing district championship games and local small DIII college games.
Stop arguing about this play. It is very simple. You read what it says in the Case Book and do that. There's nothing to discuss.

5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official;

or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her
team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING:
In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and
granted
; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges
and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.
Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In
(b), an accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out,
and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the
point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 05:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Stop arguing about this play. It is very simple. You read what it says in the Case Book and do that. There's nothing to discuss.

5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the
Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official;

or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her
team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out. RULING:
In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and
granted
; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges
and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.
Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In
(b), an accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out,
and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the
point of interruption. (4-36-1; 4-36-2a)
There was no arguing between me and the other forum members, I got it clear now.

Does anyone actually read all of the case book though? Some of these situations are almost never to happen.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 05:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
There was no arguing between me and the other forum members, I got it clear now.

Does anyone actually read all of the case book though? Some of these situations are almost never to happen.
Those of us who have been around for several years have spent many hours reading through that book. Some of us have even authored a few of the play situations. So, yes, we are aware of everything which is in it and have read the whole thing.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 05:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Those of us who have been around for several years have spent many hours reading through that book. Some of us have even authored a few of the play situations. So, yes, we are aware of everything which is in it and have read the whole thing.
Well, I just finished the last book I was reading, so I'll put the case book on my list then. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 05:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
There was no arguing between me and the other forum members, I got it clear now.

Does anyone actually read all of the case book though? Some of these situations are almost never to happen.

Yes. And the Rule Book. How else are you going to learn? As a new ref (2nd yr.& going through the process of passing wriiten&floor exams to make my board)...I know that the more I read it (and I'll never know it cold) the more I improve in my understanding of the basic tenets of the game. A good example of this is in BITS' reply about proper use of the A/P arrow. Casebook helps you grasp/understand the A/P arrow....not only when/how to use it, but most importantly when NOT to use it. One of the concepts the vets in charge of the 2nd yr. non-certified refs on our board have been hammering into our heads in classes this year is proper use/application and understanding of POI and A/P arrow.
Also, as Nevada showed in his reply...the answer to the "knotty problem" in your OP was right in the casebook....no debate as to what was the proper thing to do in the game.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
There was no arguing between me and the other forum members, I got it clear now.

Does anyone actually read all of the case book though? Some of these situations are almost never to happen.
I'll also add, in addition to the points already made, that reading those plays there are 'almost never to happen' is a tremendous way to truly understand the rules.

If you understand why one of those extremely rare cases is ruled the way it is, then you should have no problem when determining the correct ruling in a related but less rare scenario.

The case book is not written to give specific examples of every possible play, but rather to clarify the ruling on situations that can be applied to many other situations you will encounter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction --- Debate #1,264,894 wadeintothem Softball 19 Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:36am
Help settle a debate pjlyons Basketball 13 Tue Dec 23, 2003 07:45am
Debate foxwhistler Basketball 18 Wed Nov 05, 2003 03:09am
2 man vs. 3 man debate WindyCityRef Basketball 3 Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:11am
The Great Debate: The Flop Brad Basketball 21 Thu Jan 31, 2002 11:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1