The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2003, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Everyone,

For many years, my father worked as a teacher at an Indiana high school. Around the 60's or 70's, my dad saw something at a basketball game, that to this day he still talks about.

He was working as a radio commentator for his High School, which I believe was Whiteland. It was the end of the game, just a few seconds left, and the visiting team was leading by one point, and was inbounding the ball from underneath the home team's basket. The home team set up a full court press, hoping to steal the ball and make a quick basket. The crowd was going crazy. When the ball was inbounded, it was caught by a player from the visiting team. This player was so rattled by the crowd and pressure that he shot the ball AT THE WRONG BASKET. The buzzer sounded while the ball was in midair. The ball then dropped through the hoop. The crowd went bonkers...however, the official ruled that the basket was no good.

Needless to say, there was pandemonium, and the official had to be led out of the gymnasium by security. My dad has wondered for years, did the official make the right call? We have never been able to find out! Can someone help us? It is possible that current rules may not apply, since the game occurred many years ago.

Thanks for your reply, and I hope you enjoyed the story!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2003, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 167
I think the call was correct--it is not a "shot" to shot at the wrong basket thus the end of game when time ran out---not true if shot was at the correct basket--time would not have run out until the try/shot ended
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2003, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Correct call. Since the shot was attempted at the wrong hoop, it is not considered a try. Since it is not a try, the ball becomes dead when the horn sounds rather than when the shot ends.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2003, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by pjlyons
The crowd went bonkers...however, the official ruled that the basket was no good.
Obviously, a very smart man.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2003, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696

Gee, What if he (or she) was fouled on the non-try?

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2003, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696

Can You get a 2 shot foul shooting at the wrong basket?

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 22, 2003, 07:30pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy

Can You get a 2 shot foul shooting at the wrong basket?

Yup, as long as the whistle for the foul went before the horn ended the quarter, AND the team that committed the foul had 10 or more fouls that half. What you can't have is a foul in the act of shooting.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2003, 12:25am
ace ace is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to ace
So a basket at the wrong bucket does not count? what happens after it goes through? Ball dead endline spot?
__________________
John "acee" A.
Recently got a DWI - Driving With Icee.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2003, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy

Can You get a 2 shot foul shooting at the wrong basket?

Yup, as long as the whistle for the foul went before the horn ended the quarter, AND the team that committed the foul had 10 or more fouls that half.

Hmmm...are you sure about that?

Quote:
Originally posted by ace
So a basket at the wrong bucket does not count? what happens after it goes through? Ball dead endline spot?
Read the whole play, ace. The play was during the final buzzer. There is no throw-in. The game is over or there's OT.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2003, 01:30am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy

Can You get a 2 shot foul shooting at the wrong basket?

Yup, as long as the whistle for the foul went before the horn ended the quarter, AND the team that committed the foul had 10 or more fouls that half.

Hmmm...are you sure about that?

Okay, I give up. Is there something wrong here?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2003, 02:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
The FOUL must occur prior to the buzzer. When the whistle sounds is not an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2003, 02:20am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy

Can You get a 2 shot foul shooting at the wrong basket?

Yup, as long as the whistle for the foul went before the horn ended the quarter, AND the team that committed the foul had 10 or more fouls that half.

Hmmm...are you sure about that?

Pretty much so. What did you spot?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2003, 02:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy

Can You get a 2 shot foul shooting at the wrong basket?

Yup, as long as the whistle for the foul went before the horn ended the quarter, AND the team that committed the foul had 10 or more fouls that half.

Hmmm...are you sure about that?

Pretty much so. What did you spot?
Read the reply to j.a.r. above.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 23, 2003, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,501
Quote:
Originally posted by ace
So a basket at the wrong bucket does not count? what happens after it goes through? Ball dead endline spot?
I'm not sure if you're asking a general question, or a question about this specific play.

Anytime a LIVE BALL passes through the basket, it counts as two points for the team whose basket it went through, unless it was a FT or a three-point try (or a pass from beyond the arc that was untouched). The team not credited with points has a throw in from anywhere along the endline.

In the play in question, the horn sounded and it wasn't a try, so the ball became dead immediately. Whether it went through the basket is of no consequence.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1