The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 08:36pm
Official Forum Member

Question Preferences for scoreboard/timer & scorebook operations

What is the preference of everyone when it comes to who's doing scoreboard/timer & official scorebook at games?

Do you prefer someone who is keeping up with the rules/regulations? Or someone that's going off of regulations that's 5-10 years old?

Should it be mandatory that anyone doing scoreboard/timing and scorebook have to go through the training & testing that the floor officials go through?

I am asking this because I have been doing scoreboard/timing for my alma mater for the past 4 years, & every year I go to my state association's website & go through the online rules clinic that's posted for the public to view. For my alma mater, I do scoreboard/timing for JV & C-Squad games, I have also done Girls' Varsity Shot Clock for a couple of games.
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member

I am curious as to what everyone's thoughts are on this, concerning the fact that there is a difference in first-year scoreboard/timer & scorebook, & those that have been doing it for years on end.

How easy is it, as a floor official, to keep up on the new POE & rules/regulations when they change from one year to another?
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member

Not something I even worry about because I have no control over it. The home team picks who does it. If they look like a deer in the headlights, I might try to help them a little with some advice. other than that, the only think I do is ask them if they know when to blow the warning horn. If they give me a strong and correct answer, we're good to go.
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member

It is always better to work with an experienced and competent table crew.