The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon May 16, 2005, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member

I'm just starting out my umpiring "career" LOL and was hoping to get some insight and opinions on equipment.

What do you guys prefer in terms of chest protectors (i.e., Wilson Platinum/Gold, Gerry Davis, Honigs, etc.) and shin guards (i.e., double-knee, single-knee). I'm going to have to purchase all my equipment new and was wondering what insight you guys might have since I'm not too familiar with the different types. Which is more comfortable, what can't you live without, etc.?

Thanks for your input, guys.

Old Mon May 16, 2005, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to akalsey Send a message via Yahoo to akalsey
What level are you going to be working? That's going to have a lot to do with the gear you'll need. If you're doing youth ball, you don't need to invest nearly as much money as you do once you move to 90 foot bases.

I'm quite happy with my Honig's K1 protector and my K20 leg guards, although I bought my leg guards a bit too long. I wish I'd bought the 16s or maybe even the 15s instead of the 17s I have.

I recently bought the Tanel 360 plate shoes and I find them very comfortable. I always felt like I was wearing work books when wearing other plate shoes.

I also recently upgraded to the Wilson chrome mask and wraparound pads. The mask gives an incredible view and is very light -- you almost forget you're wearing it. It's a slightly lower profile than other masks, so taking if off without losing your cap takes a little extra practice.

The Ump Attire ball bag is a nice thing to have if you don't have a secure place to store your wallet and keys during a game. It has a zippered pocket on the back that holds extras like these. See http://www.ump-attire.com/Merchant2/...roduct_Count=2
Old Mon May 16, 2005, 09:31pm