The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2009, 03:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathuc View Post
NFHS - Rule 5-2-1 & 3 - YES - it would count. There is a provision in 4-5-4 that if they start the second quarter going the wrong way (i.e. the officials make the mistake, not the player) then they just switch ends and play resumes.

I actually had a player (call him A1) get confused once on a full court press started immediately after the half. A1 caught the ball in the back court and made a spin move and drove right down the lane for a lay-up past B1. I stopped play when B1 team attempted to inbound the ball. In this case, my partner had informed both teams which direction they were going prior to the inbounds, so it was not our mistake - nullifying 4-5-4. We had the scorer make a footnote as in Rule 5-2-3 and nobody was credited for the goal. We resumed play with A2 inbounding the ball on the baseline, with all privileges (i.e. running the baseline to inbound the ball)
You discounted the score, or no individual player was credited? I'm not positive how you did this based on your wording here.

Also, the question you answered was, more specifically, "if a player shoots at the wrong basket and time expires while the shot is in flight, does it count?"

The answer to that question is, "No." The ball becomes dead when time expires, and none of the exceptions apply since this is not a legal try.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2009, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: I live in a house
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You discounted the score, or no individual player was credited? I'm not positive how you did this based on your wording here.

Also, the question you answered was, more specifically, "if a player shoots at the wrong basket and time expires while the shot is in flight, does it count?"

The answer to that question is, "No." The ball becomes dead when time expires, and none of the exceptions apply since this is not a legal try.
Right, right, I see your point and you are correct. If the ball had entered the basket with the clock running than your answer is Yes.

to answer your question; Yes, we counted the basket as it happened while the clock was running - no player was credited with the basket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shoots at Wrong Basket and is fouled JACKARN Basketball 8 Wed Jan 24, 2007 05:52pm
Player Shoots at Wrong Basket Mregor Basketball 5 Sat Feb 21, 2004 01:55pm
Team Shoots on Wrong Basket djskinn Basketball 10 Tue Feb 17, 2004 02:18pm
players shoots in wrong basket and gets fouled timharris Basketball 13 Fri Mar 21, 2003 03:52pm
A1 shoots in wrong goal and is fouled. Kristy Roberson Basketball 3 Wed Jan 30, 2002 03:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1