The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Nate Robinson shoots at wrong basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55496-nate-robinson-shoots-wrong-basket.html)

Indianaref Sat Nov 21, 2009 05:23pm

Nate Robinson shoots at wrong basket
 
YouTube - Nate Robinson shoots on wrong basket, D'Antoni snaps

For new officials only: If Nate released the shot before the horn, does it count or not?

SamIAm Sat Nov 21, 2009 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 637497)
YouTube - Nate Robinson shoots on wrong basket, D'Antoni snaps

For new officials only: If Nate released the shot before the horn, does it count or not?

NBA - Who knows.
NCAA & NFHS - no.

iiicream Sat Nov 21, 2009 06:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 637497)
YouTube - Nate Robinson shoots on wrong basket, D'Antoni snaps

For new officials only: If Nate released the shot before the horn, does it count or not?

Did he travel first?

Mark Padgett Sat Nov 21, 2009 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by iiicream (Post 637500)
Did he travel first?

NCAA & NFHS - yes
NBA - no such thing
:p

btaylor64 Sat Nov 21, 2009 06:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 637497)
YouTube - Nate Robinson shoots on wrong basket, D'Antoni snaps

For new officials only: If Nate released the shot before the horn, does it count or not?

NBA- Horn or no horn, this is a violation as soon as he attempts the shot and no points can be awarded.

Adam Sat Nov 21, 2009 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 637505)
NBA- Horn or no horn, this is a violation as soon as he attempts the shot and no points can be awarded.

Really? Interesting.

Stat-Man Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637508)
Really? Interesting.

Rule 5, Section I, Item e (from my copy of NBA rules as of Summer 2007):

It is a violation for a player to attempt a field goal at an opponent's basket. The opposing team will be awarded the ball at the free throw line extended.

mbyron Sun Nov 22, 2009 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man (Post 637524)
Rule 5, Section I, Item e (from my copy of NBA rules as of Summer 2007):

It is a violation for a player to attempt a field goal at an opponent's basket. The opposing team will be awarded the ball at the free throw line extended.

OK, next question: have the officials been instructed to enforce this rule?

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2009 09:55am

Their Rulebook Is An Entertainment Book ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 637552)
Have the officials been instructed to enforce this rule?

C'mon mbyron. You should already know this. It's the NBA. NBA officials have neither "enforce", nor do they have "rule" in their vocabulary.

bob jenkins Sun Nov 22, 2009 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stat-Man (Post 637524)
Rule 5, Section I, Item e (from my copy of NBA rules as of Summer 2007):

It is a violation for a player to attempt a field goal at an opponent's basket. The opposing team will be awarded the ball at the free throw line extended.

I think this was put in place to prevent a player from shooting at the wrong basket as time expires and affecting the game results based on the point spread.

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2009 09:59am

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 637555)
I think this was put in place to prevent a player from shooting at the wrong basket as time expires and affecting the game results based on the point spread.

You are correct. It's the infamous "Tim Donaghy Rule".

mathuc Mon Nov 30, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 637499)
NBA - Who knows.
NCAA & NFHS - no.

NFHS - Rule 5-2-1 & 3 - YES - it would count. There is a provision in 4-5-4 that if they start the second quarter going the wrong way (i.e. the officials make the mistake, not the player) then they just switch ends and play resumes.

I actually had a player (call him A1) get confused once on a full court press started immediately after the half. A1 caught the ball in the back court and made a spin move and drove right down the lane for a lay-up past B1. I stopped play when B1 team attempted to inbound the ball. In this case, my partner had informed both teams which direction they were going prior to the inbounds, so it was not our mistake - nullifying 4-5-4. We had the scorer make a footnote as in Rule 5-2-3 and nobody was credited for the goal. We resumed play with A2 inbounding the ball on the baseline, with all privileges (i.e. running the baseline to inbound the ball)

Berkut Mon Nov 30, 2009 03:34pm

Rule 6-7-6: Ball becomes dead when the timer sounds for the end of the period.

The exception for a try in flight only applies to a try - and a try is defined by a shot at your own basket (4-41-2).

Adam Mon Nov 30, 2009 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mathuc (Post 638720)
NFHS - Rule 5-2-1 & 3 - YES - it would count. There is a provision in 4-5-4 that if they start the second quarter going the wrong way (i.e. the officials make the mistake, not the player) then they just switch ends and play resumes.

I actually had a player (call him A1) get confused once on a full court press started immediately after the half. A1 caught the ball in the back court and made a spin move and drove right down the lane for a lay-up past B1. I stopped play when B1 team attempted to inbound the ball. In this case, my partner had informed both teams which direction they were going prior to the inbounds, so it was not our mistake - nullifying 4-5-4. We had the scorer make a footnote as in Rule 5-2-3 and nobody was credited for the goal. We resumed play with A2 inbounding the ball on the baseline, with all privileges (i.e. running the baseline to inbound the ball)

You discounted the score, or no individual player was credited? I'm not positive how you did this based on your wording here.

Also, the question you answered was, more specifically, "if a player shoots at the wrong basket and time expires while the shot is in flight, does it count?"

The answer to that question is, "No." The ball becomes dead when time expires, and none of the exceptions apply since this is not a legal try.

mathuc Mon Nov 30, 2009 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 638722)
You discounted the score, or no individual player was credited? I'm not positive how you did this based on your wording here.

Also, the question you answered was, more specifically, "if a player shoots at the wrong basket and time expires while the shot is in flight, does it count?"

The answer to that question is, "No." The ball becomes dead when time expires, and none of the exceptions apply since this is not a legal try.

Right, right, I see your point and you are correct. If the ball had entered the basket with the clock running than your answer is Yes.

to answer your question; Yes, we counted the basket as it happened while the clock was running - no player was credited with the basket.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1