The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 01:04pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It just dawned on me that the tackle would be a flagrant personal rather than a flagrant technical.
It can't be a flagrant personal foul, since A1 was not in the game at the time.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
My understanding is that with one act, they generally want us to call one foul. The case play addresses a very specific situation where calling one foul would allow the offending team to gain an advantage by that foul; thus they give us leeway to call 2. I don't see that here, so I think in most situations a single flagrant would be enough.
I understand your thinking, but, this player has already been disqualified. I think that since already DQ'd - I would go with the two technicals. It really does not matter if one is flagrant as far as the penalty goes - they are already disqualified with coach notified. They know they are disqualified and still committed the infractions. They would certainly not be on the bench any longer. Since coach did not necessarily "allow" A1 to participate - he would not add to the T count.
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 01:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch View Post
It can't be a flagrant personal foul, since A1 was not in the game at the time.
Based on which rule? The ball is live.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 01:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui View Post
I understand your thinking, but, this player has already been disqualified. I think that since already DQ'd - I would go with the two technicals. It really does not matter if one is flagrant as far as the penalty goes - they are already disqualified with coach notified. They know they are disqualified and still committed the infractions. They would certainly not be on the bench any longer. Since coach did not necessarily "allow" A1 to participate - he would not add to the T count.
Any bench player knows he's not supposed to do this, being disqualified really doesn't make it any more true. From that perspective, I don't see how that matters, honestly.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 01:23pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If we're discussing the OP ("B6 tackles A1"), then I agree. If we're discussing the case play (B6 blocks the shot), then I don't think it qualifies as flagrant.
I was and I agree that the case play (B6 blocks the shot) isn't flagrant.



Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think you need to check your humor plug-in.

The only way I'd issue a direct to the coach on this is if s/he said "go in and block that shot."
Ok, you caught me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui View Post
I understand your thinking, but, this player has already been disqualified. I think that since already DQ'd - I would go with the two technicals. It really does not matter if one is flagrant as far as the penalty goes - they are already disqualified with coach notified. They know they are disqualified and still committed the infractions. They would certainly not be on the bench any longer. Since coach did not necessarily "allow" A1 to participate - he would not add to the T count.
In my opinion, it doesn't matter if the player was DQ'd or not - I'm calling two Ts.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 01:33pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
I guess I need to read better myself, he may be referring to the quoted area. Nevermind

-Josh
I'm referring to the OP. I didn't even notice that the case play said A1 blocked the shot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Any bench player knows he's not supposed to do this, being disqualified really doesn't make it any more true. From that perspective, I don't see how that matters, honestly.
Any bench player should know this, BUT, this idiot already did something to get DQ'd. He should receive both penalties allowed by rule. Period. He was responsible for two infractions. It was not one act. Going on the court is a seperate act. Tackling is another. If being disqualified doesn't make it any more true - it certainly doesn't make it any less true and certainly should not be an excuse NOT to enforce the rules that say he should get 2 technicals. We are not out there to give idiots like that a break. We are not deciding an outcome - that responsibility falls on his shoulders alone.
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 01:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui View Post
Any bench player should know this, BUT, this idiot already did something to get DQ'd. He should receive both penalties allowed by rule. Period. He was responsible for two infractions. It was not one act. Going on the court is a seperate act. Tackling is another. If being disqualified doesn't make it any more true - it certainly doesn't make it any less true and certainly should not be an excuse NOT to enforce the rules that say he should get 2 technicals. We are not out there to give idiots like that a break. We are not deciding an outcome - that responsibility falls on his shoulders alone.
First of all, the one thing that never crosses my mind on the court is any sort of concern for "deciding the outcome." Just thought I'd knock that one down quickly.

Now, on to the substance.

DQ'd may just mean he fouled out, so being DQ'd doesn't make in an idiot.

I'm picturing a crime of opportunity here, not a heat-seeking missile, with the offense running very near the sideline. It's a single act, the way I see it; just like a defender reaching across the plane and striking the ball (or thrower) during a throwin. That's two infractions in one action, yet the Fed wants us to penalize one infraction.

Now, that said, the case play we're using does not involve an actual foul, so there is a difference here that easily allows for the 2nd foul that the case play doesn't contain.

I'm coming around, frankly, but I still see the 2nd as a flagrant personal since the ball is live.

Even if I see the knucklhead run onto the court, I'm letting the breakaway play itself out. Offense may get two points plus the T here, or two points plus the T plus the flagrant personal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm coming around, frankly, but I still see the 2nd as a flagrant personal since the ball is live.
"A personal foul is a PLAYER foul ..."

"A technical foul is a foul by a NON PLAYER"

Right from 4-19 (with minor formatting edits)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 02:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
"A personal foul is a PLAYER foul ..."

"A technical foul is a foul by a NON PLAYER"

Right from 4-19 (with minor formatting edits)
And there we go.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 02:31pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you go with two Ts, what's the difference if one is flagrant or not?
In the interp it was mentioned that there is an advantage if 2 T's are not called in this example? Since team B was up by 3 then only calling 1 T will only give team A 2 shots, even if flagrant the game was over in the interp.

In the OP you could go withthe 1 T and make it a flagrant for the tackle, then A would get the ball back again since it does not say if its the end of the game or not.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 02:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
In the case play, A6 does not foul the shooter, he only blocks the shot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 15
Number of free throws

The main debate we had was is do we award two free throws or four and do we treat it as one penalty or two.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 04:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fathertime View Post
The main debate we had was is do we award two free throws or four and do we treat it as one penalty or two.
You can justify going either direction, IMO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
A1 has fouled out and has been disqualified with the coach notified. Later in the game, B1 has a breakaway and A1 jumps off of the bench and tackles B1 before B1 can shoot.
A bunch of answers here that aren't necessarily wrong, but need further explanation, so let's go through this step by step.

1. A1 has been DQed. Thus, he becomes "bench personnel." (See 4-34-3)

2. The initial movement onto the court is a Technical foul for bench personnel and an indirect T to the HC. (See 10-4-2, 10-4).

3. The ball becomes dead when the player enters the court. (See 6-7-7).

4. The contact by A1 on B1 is a TECHNICAL foul. (See 4-19-5-a, c). This technical is also charged indirectly to the HC (he has 2 Indirects now). (See 10-4). There is no need for a discussion on intentional or flagrant fouls since the conduct described is clearly a technical. There is also no need for a discussion on DQ, since he's already DQed.

5. Team B will be awarded 4 free throws and the ball at the division line for which any Team B player or sub may attempt. We are also going to remove A1 from the confines of the bench -- probably putting him in police custody if possible!

6. You are probably going to need to write a report on this. See your state association guidelines.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disqualified player and no replacement ctpfive Basketball 11 Tue Dec 09, 2008 01:28am
Disqualified player Forksref Football 1 Sun Sep 03, 2006 09:43pm
Disqualified Player ThickSkin Basketball 10 Sun Jan 15, 2006 12:14am
Disqualified Player All_Heart Basketball 8 Wed Jan 04, 2006 09:45am
Disqualified Player - Oops Sven Basketball 22 Sat Dec 13, 2003 11:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1