![]() |
|
|
|||
bzzzz. uno mas which is related to the last.
accidental baskets are counted like a player tipping the ball in for the wrong team or in the rare case a pass being deflected and into the basket. If something like that happened and say a pass goes off someone's head and there clearly isn't a try for a goal and the buzzer goes off while the ball is in the air then would the shot not count? I'm thinking yes it would count. kind of thinking why the ball bouncing off the floor wouldn't count and if those would. If the buzzer goes off before the ball hits the floor then sure I see that but if it is in the air then the buzzer goes off. Anyways, it would be really cool to see that. (maybe to ref it not so much) ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Such plays have been discussed before and play rulings issued for them. 4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1) FROM FLOOR TO BASKET 5.1.1 SITUATION: A pass, a tap or a try for field goal by A1 comes down several feet in front of the basket. The ball strikes the floor without touching any player and bounces into the basket. Are two points counted for A: (a) if not complicated by expiration of time for a quarter or extra period or by a foul occurring while the ball is in flight; or (b) if time expires while the ball is in flight or a foul occurs while the ball is in flight? RULING: In (a), two points are scored. The tap or the try for field goal by A1 ends when the ball touches the floor but a field goal is sometimes scored when it is not the result of a tap or a try. In the case cited, credit the two points to A1. In (b), since a pass is not a try, the ball becomes dead immediately. However, a try or tap by A1 towards A’s basket does not become dead until the try or tap ends, which it does when it touches the floor. (4-41-2, 4, 5) NOT A TRY OR TAP FOR GOAL 5.2.1 SITUATION D: Following the free throws for a technical foul, A1 makes a throw-in from out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. The throw-in pass is deflected at A’s free-throw line by: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and it then goes directly through A’s basket. RULING: Score two points for Team A in both (a) and (b). The throw-in ended when the ball was touched by an inbounds player and the live ball subsequently passed through the basket. The fact it was not a tap or a try for goal does not affect the scoring of two points. (4-41-4) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A couple of misc. questions | mjbofficial | Basketball | 8 | Fri Feb 02, 2007 06:04pm |
Misc. Ramblings (long post, sorry) | RPatrino | Baseball | 19 | Fri May 12, 2006 11:04am |
misc questions | MdSooner | Baseball | 7 | Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:59pm |
NF misc. on conferences. | Mike Simonds | Football | 2 | Sat Aug 30, 2003 09:36am |
2 more questions | barney19 | Lacrosse | 2 | Tue May 07, 2002 10:12am |