![]() |
|
|
|||
few misc questions
kind of in responses to some of the other posts I've been reading. And also because I just had a few cups of green tea and my mind is a bit fuzzy right now.
One, on those trick plays you see or maybe just one on accident. player catches a pass and before dribbling tosses the ball to the side or over the defenders head and gets the ball again. Is the player allowed to dribble or grab the ball? How do you tell what is dribble or a pass in this situation 2. If shot goes through the rim from underneath is that a violation right away and is play stopped. If the ball goes underneath and hits the net and rim but goes not go through is that the same? If it isn't a violation I assume the shot clock would continue and a player would be allowed to get the ball and dribble again. edit-------------- 3. What is your favorite color and who is Biggles. Last edited by mutantducky; Thu Aug 20, 2009 at 02:58pm. |
|
|||
My favorite color is burple and Biggles is a fictional pilot character and also a Monty Python character that was a take-off (no pun intended) on the original Biggles character.
Oh yeah - I had a pet weasel named Biggles once. Or, maybe his name was Steve. I can't remember.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
||||
Quote:
A try ends when it hits the floor. This would affect scoring (2 or 3 points) or shot clock resets (college).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
New York State HS rules do not have this requirement. The ball striking the ring results in a reset of the shot clock.
|
|
|||
on this, just want to make sure.
5.2.1 SITUATION D: Following the free throws for a technical foul, A1 makes a throw-in from out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. The throw-in pass is deflected at A’s free-throw line by: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and it then goes directly through A’s basket. RULING: Score two points for Team A in both (a) and (b). The throw-in ended when the ball was touched by an inbounds player and the live ball subsequently passed through the basket. The fact it was not a tap or a try for goal does not affect the scoring of two points. (4-41-4) --------------------------------------------------- So in the first if there is no shot for goal even if it goes off A, say off the head, time expires and then the ball goes in that would mean NO Basket? 2. Can the team on Defense have a try for a goal at the wrong basket. B1 shoots, time off, basket in goes in. |
|
|||
Quote:
1) That's correct. 2) A try, by definition, is at your own basket. If you "attempt to throw the ball through your opponent's basket" it's not a try, and so the ball becomes dead when time expires. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A couple of misc. questions | mjbofficial | Basketball | 8 | Fri Feb 02, 2007 06:04pm |
Misc. Ramblings (long post, sorry) | RPatrino | Baseball | 19 | Fri May 12, 2006 11:04am |
misc questions | MdSooner | Baseball | 7 | Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:59pm |
NF misc. on conferences. | Mike Simonds | Football | 2 | Sat Aug 30, 2003 09:36am |
2 more questions | barney19 | Lacrosse | 2 | Tue May 07, 2002 10:12am |