The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Here it is, unfortunately typical crappy youtube quality
Didn't see this play before this clip....


What should have been called was BI on the shooter...A1 (Arizona).

After that, the A2 (Arizona) touched the ball but did NOT travel....he wasn't touching the ball long enough for his feet to have moved while touching it. The defensive player he flipped it (Utah) to did travel before starting a dribble.

While the usually sharp Mr. Shaw was on his toes in recognizing something goofy and illegal just happened, he didn't get it quite right.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post

What should have been called was BI on the shooter...A1 (Arizona).
While I don't have an NCAA rule book handy, I would think BI is pretty much the same as in NFHS where a dunk is legal and not considered BI. It was just an odd play where he cause it to come back out. But not BI.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 01:23pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
"You are correct, sir" (Ed McMahon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LocDog249 View Post
While I don't have an NCAA rule book handy, I would think BI is pretty much the same as in NFHS where a dunk is legal and not considered BI. It was just an odd play where he cause it to come back out. But not BI.
NFHS 4-6 SECTION 6 Basket interference occurs when a player:
ART. 1 Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.
ART. 2 Touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base.
EXCEPTION: In Arts. 1 or 2, if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.
ART. 3 Touches the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below.
ART. 4 Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Even though it was only a partial explanation do I still get a prize for this one? j/k
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocDog249 View Post
Even though it was only a partial explanation do I still get a prize for this one? j/k
No, because it was not relevant.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocDog249 View Post
While I don't have an NCAA rule book handy, I would think BI is pretty much the same as in NFHS where a dunk is legal and not considered BI. It was just an odd play where he cause it to come back out. But not BI.
The BI was not for the hand being in contact with the ball/basket in the process of the dunk. It would be for, after he released the rim, grabbing the bottom of the net while the ball was in the basket (which is what caused it to pop out)....noting that the definition of BI doesn't depend on which team does it (meaning we'd be counting the basket had the a defender done the same).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The BI was not for the hand being in contact with the ball/basket in the process of the dunk. It would be for, after he released the rim, grabbing the bottom of the net while the ball was in the basket (which is what caused it to pop out)....noting that the definition of BI doesn't depend on which team does it (meaning we'd be counting the basket had the a defender done the same).
So you are telling me that had this ball gone all the way through and cleared the bottom of the net, and player A1's hand hits the net after he lets go of the rim, you are going to wave off the basket and call BI?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
I am a Utah fan... (I did not see the game though) but this should have been Arizona ball.

It looks like everyone just assumed that the dunk counted, that's why the AZ player flipped the ball back to the Utah player, and then both Utah players were just dumbfounded and walked with the ball "bringing it back in"...

Right call, wrong direction...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocDog249 View Post
So you are telling me that had this ball gone all the way through and cleared the bottom of the net, and player A1's hand hits the net after he lets go of the rim, you are going to wave off the basket and call BI?
No.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2009, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The BI was not for the hand being in contact with the ball/basket in the process of the dunk. It would be for, after he released the rim, grabbing the bottom of the net while the ball was in the basket (which is what caused it to pop out)....
Granted we're talking YouTube quality here, but go watch the real-time speed of the dunk at the beginning of the clip, and tell me you, or any of the 3 officials, could have honestly seen him grabbing the net so that you would unequivocally make that call. I think it's borderline at best even when I watch it in slo-mo, never mind when it's happening live.

As for my .02 on the ruling: correct that the basket doesn't count (for not completely passing through the basket), but wrong player called for travel.

One other thing I noticed was that it appears to me A1 (the dunker) possibly was pushed by the B1 defender running down the court just as he went up for the failed dunk. L didn't appear to have the angle to see any contact on A1's back (wasn't his primary anyway so he'd probably pass unless he was 110% sure), but the C was running down court and in relatively good position that he could've seen it. The contact wasn't severe, but probably enough that I would've called it. The real-time portion almost makes the contact look intentional, but the slo-mo replay shows B1 swatting at the ball with his right hand and kind of bracing himself against A1 with his left.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2009, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma_ref View Post
Granted we're talking YouTube quality here, but go watch the real-time speed of the dunk at the beginning of the clip, and tell me you, or any of the 3 officials, could have honestly seen him grabbing the net so that you would unequivocally make that call. I think it's borderline at best even when I watch it in slo-mo, never mind when it's happening live.
Can't disagree with that...very hard to see....but it was what really happened.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yikes- blatant missed nba travel call mutantducky Basketball 4 Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:58am
Missed Dunk / Snapped Rim Larks Basketball 4 Wed Jul 11, 2007 01:13pm
Missed Dunk -> Basket Interference? dkitch Basketball 10 Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:51pm
UNC/Villanova; missed travel call? Tar Heel Basketball 24 Sun Mar 27, 2005 05:21pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1