The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 21, 2009, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by mu4scott View Post
Shaw had to come in w/ something. He sold it well and bailed out his two partners, especially the "C".
That's exactly what happened. Of the 13 people on the floor, Curtis Shaw was the only one who knew what was going on. He blew the travel on the AZ player before the Utah player could do anything with it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 21, 2009, 10:10pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Question Confused

Wait, am I missing something? What did Arizona do illegal? Arizona misses dunk, teammate rebounds ball, and subsequently drops the ball. Then a Utah player grabbed the ball and traveled with it. Shouldn't the ball have gone to Arizona on the baseline instead of giving back to Utah?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Wait, am I missing something? What did Arizona do illegal? Arizona misses dunk, teammate rebounds ball, and subsequently drops the ball. Then a Utah player grabbed the ball and traveled with it. Shouldn't the ball have gone to Arizona on the baseline instead of giving back to Utah?
Yes... The ball should have gone to Arizona OOB. I watched the reply about a dozen times, and the AZ player gets the ball and just tosses it behind him to the ground, as if giving it to Utah for what he thought was an ensuing inbounds. The Utah player definitely traveled with the ball. It was the right call on the wrong team.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dallas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Wait, am I missing something? What did Arizona do illegal? Arizona misses dunk, teammate rebounds ball, and subsequently drops the ball. Then a Utah player grabbed the ball and traveled with it. Shouldn't the ball have gone to Arizona on the baseline instead of giving back to Utah?

Quote:
Yes... The ball should have gone to Arizona OOB. I watched the reply about a dozen times, and the AZ player gets the ball and just tosses it behind him to the ground, as if giving it to Utah for what he thought was an ensuing inbounds. The Utah player definitely traveled with the ball. It was the right call on the wrong team.

The ball has to go completely through the net for it to count as a basket. In the case of the Arizona player's dunk, the ball didn't do that.

It was the correct call.

(Of course, I'm going by memory as I watched that entire game yesterday.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 12:31am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingTripleJump View Post
The ball has to go completely through the net for it to count as a basket. In the case of the Arizona player's dunk, the ball didn't do that.

It was the correct call.

I think everyone agrees that it was no basket. The question is who, if anyone, committed a violation. What was your idea about the call?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 01:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dallas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I think everyone agrees that it was no basket. The question is who, if anyone, committed a violation. What was your idea about the call?

Once again, I preface this by saying I'm going solely on memory from watching the game and I haven't looked at any replay.

But from my memory, I don't remember saying to myself the U of A player actually committed a violation. But I do remember that play happening and everyone just stopping and freezing cause they were caught off guard. That's when Shaw stepped in.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 12:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingTripleJump View Post
The ball has to go completely through the net for it to count as a basket. In the case of the Arizona player's dunk, the ball didn't do that.

It was the correct call.

(Of course, I'm going by memory as I watched that entire game yesterday.)
How is it the correct call? If you watch the video again, you will see the AZ player who caught it didn't violate. The only violation came when the Utah player caught it. He seemed a little surprised, like he didn't know if it counted or not. He then traveled with the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 10:08am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
That's exactly what happened. Of the 13 people on the floor, Curtis Shaw was the only one who knew what was going on. He blew the travel on the AZ player before the Utah player could do anything with it.
Except that no one on AZ travelled with the ball. A1 missed the dunk, and A2 rebounded the ball and immediately dropped it. Shaw blew his whistle when the B1 had the ball and it was B1 who travelled but Team B ended up with the throw-in.

All in all not a big deal but the correct call was not made.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Except that no one on AZ travelled with the ball. A1 missed the dunk, and A2 rebounded the ball and immediately dropped it. Shaw blew his whistle when the B1 had the ball and it was B1 who travelled but Team B ended up with the throw-in.

All in all not a big deal but the correct call was not made.
I'm pretty sure A2 took a few steps, based off of my memory.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
I'm pretty sure A2 took a few steps, based off of my memory.
He did not.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Here it is, unfortunately typical crappy youtube quality
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Here it is, unfortunately typical crappy youtube quality
Didn't see this play before this clip....


What should have been called was BI on the shooter...A1 (Arizona).

After that, the A2 (Arizona) touched the ball but did NOT travel....he wasn't touching the ball long enough for his feet to have moved while touching it. The defensive player he flipped it (Utah) to did travel before starting a dribble.

While the usually sharp Mr. Shaw was on his toes in recognizing something goofy and illegal just happened, he didn't get it quite right.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post

What should have been called was BI on the shooter...A1 (Arizona).
While I don't have an NCAA rule book handy, I would think BI is pretty much the same as in NFHS where a dunk is legal and not considered BI. It was just an odd play where he cause it to come back out. But not BI.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 22, 2009, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Except that no one on AZ travelled with the ball. A1 missed the dunk, and A2 rebounded the ball and immediately dropped it. Shaw blew his whistle when the B1 had the ball and it was B1 who travelled but Team B ended up with the throw-in.

All in all not a big deal but the correct call was not made.

Agreed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yikes- blatant missed nba travel call mutantducky Basketball 4 Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:58am
Missed Dunk / Snapped Rim Larks Basketball 4 Wed Jul 11, 2007 01:13pm
Missed Dunk -> Basket Interference? dkitch Basketball 10 Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:51pm
UNC/Villanova; missed travel call? Tar Heel Basketball 24 Sun Mar 27, 2005 05:21pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1