![]() |
|
|
|||
Running the endline after a made hoop
Gentlemen:
This happened in a Christmas travel team tournament last week. NHSF rules. After a made hoop by Team B, player A-1 picks up the loose ball and steps out of bounds. He runs two steps or so behind the endline before passing to A-2 who has now stepped completely out of bounds next to him. A-2 drops the pass and then picks it up again and completes the throw in to A-3 inbounds. Team B coach is calling for a violation saying that A-2 cannot drop and pick up the ball "like that". We play on and after the game I explain to him that A-2 has done nothing illegal and can do whatever behind the endline after a made hoop etc. as long as they (A-1, A-2) release the throw in within 5 seconds. Can't find any precident in the rule/case book to back me up on this, but I'm sure I am correct..... am I?? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() If it's not illegal, then it's legal. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
__________________
![]() |
|
|||
If after a made basket a player picks up the ball, and is set to throw in but tosses the ball to the ref. Does the ref stop the count, throw the ball back? I saw that once and the coach wanted a violation but none was called and I didn't think any should have been.
A delay of game warning for a player that tosses to a ref and the ball bounces off so the player has to chase it. keep counting five seconds or pause? Or blow the whistle to stop the clock and no delay? |
|
|||
Quote:
End of game sitch |
|
|||
The play was perfectly legal. The coach was wrong. Big surprise.
![]() A player may bounce the ball OOB prior to making the throw-in pass. What's the difference between purposely bouncing it and dropping it to the floor accidentally? In this case nothing. 9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in. |
|
|||
Quote:
Can a player bounce pass to another player OOB after a made basket? This is one that we batted around here for a few days, the answer was surprizing. NO. The pass must be a direct pass to the teammate also OOB, not a bounce pass. This is from the NFHS, and our State R.I. However, a player dribbling OOB is not a violation. In case you all wanted to know. |
|
|||
This Is News To Me, Bad News, But Still News ???
I disagree, but I can't find a citation to support my interpretation. Can you please offer a citation to support your interpretation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
From the Land of OZ
This is directly from the KSHSAA website.
SITUATION OF THE WEEK #1 Team A scores, B1 retrieves the ball and steps out of bounds. B2 steps out of bounds on the opposite side of the end line. B1 bounce passes the ball to B2. Is this legal? RULING: NFHS Rule 7-5-7a – Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary. The rule does not specify the ball cannot be bounced to the other player. The ball could be passed via a chest pass, overhead pass, bounce pass or could be rolled to the other player (B2) but all this must take place within 5 seconds. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Inbound after made hoop & net is tangled | RefLarry | Basketball | 17 | Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:24pm |
5 Second count after made hoop | rbruno | Basketball | 1 | Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:38am |
running the endline | ctpfive | Basketball | 4 | Fri Feb 03, 2006 03:31pm |
Running The Endline ? | Chess Ref | Basketball | 3 | Mon Nov 28, 2005 09:24am |
running the endline | todd66 | Basketball | 27 | Tue Dec 21, 2004 11:16pm |