The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Running the endline after a made hoop (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50656-running-endline-after-made-hoop.html)

rbruno Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:02pm

Running the endline after a made hoop
 
Gentlemen:

This happened in a Christmas travel team tournament last week.
NHSF rules.
After a made hoop by Team B, player A-1 picks up the loose ball and steps out of bounds. He runs two steps or so behind the endline before passing to A-2 who has now stepped completely out of bounds next to him. A-2 drops the pass and then picks it up again and completes the throw in to A-3 inbounds.
Team B coach is calling for a violation saying that A-2 cannot drop and pick up the ball "like that". We play on and after the game I explain to him that A-2 has done nothing illegal and can do whatever behind the endline after a made hoop etc. as long as they (A-1, A-2) release the throw in within 5 seconds.
Can't find any precident in the rule/case book to back me up on this, but I'm sure I am correct..... am I??

Adam Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbruno (Post 563714)
Can't find any precident in the rule/case book to back me up on this, but I'm sure I am correct..... am I??

The fact that you couldn't find anything to back you up isn't relevant. The fact is, you can't find anything in there to back the coach up. If it's not illegal, it's legal.

tjones1 Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 563716)
The fact that you couldn't find anything to back you up isn't relevant. The fact is, you can't find anything in there to back the coach up. If it's not illegal, it's not legal.

What he said... well sort of... ;)

If it's not illegal, then it's legal.

mutantducky Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:16pm

If after a made basket a player picks up the ball, and is set to throw in but tosses the ball to the ref. Does the ref stop the count, throw the ball back? I saw that once and the coach wanted a violation but none was called and I didn't think any should have been.
A delay of game warning for a player that tosses to a ref and the ball bounces off so the player has to chase it. keep counting five seconds or pause? Or blow the whistle to stop the clock and no delay?

Nevadaref Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:18pm

The play was perfectly legal. The coach was wrong. Big surprise. :eek:

A player may bounce the ball OOB prior to making the throw-in pass. What's the difference between purposely bouncing it and dropping it to the floor accidentally? In this case nothing.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 563721)
If after a made basket a player picks up the ball, and is set to throw in but tosses the ball to the ref. Does the ref stop the count, throw the ball back? I saw that once and the coach wanted a violation but none was called and I didn't think any should have been.
A delay of game warning for a player that tosses to a ref and the ball bounces off so the player has to chase it. keep counting five seconds or pause? Or blow the whistle to stop the clock and no delay?

Don't take this thread in that direction. Go put your comment in this thread:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ame-sitch.html

Adam Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 563720)
What he said... well sort of... ;)

If it's not illegal, then it's legal.

Oops. I fixed it.

Adam Fri Jan 02, 2009 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 563725)
Don't take this thread in that direction. Go put your comment in this thread:

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ame-sitch.html

Better yet, read the thread first. You'll find every possible answer there.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 02, 2009 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 563716)
The fact that you couldn't find anything to back you up isn't relevant. The fact is, you can't find anything in there to back the coach up. If it's not illegal, it's legal.


Snaqs:

Are you talking logic lessons from Yogi Berra? :D

MTD, Sr.

Nevadaref Fri Jan 02, 2009 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 563745)
Snaqs:

Are you talking logic lessons from Yogi Berra? :D

MTD, Sr.

YouTube - Aflac

dbking Fri Jan 02, 2009 09:38pm

This was recently posted on KS official newsletter web site.
Team B can roll the ball to each other, bounce pass it, dribble it. All are legal. Just have to make sure that the ball is released for throw in before 5 count is up.

refnrev Fri Jan 02, 2009 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 563720)
What he said... well sort of... ;)

If it's not illegal, then it's legal.

TJ are you becoming the new grammar guy? Before long you'll be using really really big words like mbyron!:p

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 02, 2009 09:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 563747)


I laugh till I cry everytime I see that commercial. It probably my all time favorite commercial.

MTD, Sr.

mbyron Sat Jan 03, 2009 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev (Post 563786)
TJ are you becoming the new grammar guy? Before long you'll be using really really big words like mbyron!:p

Please don't complain, or the mods will begin bowdlerizing my posts! ;)

icallfouls Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 563723)
The play was perfectly legal. The coach was wrong. Big surprise. :eek:

A player may bounce the ball OOB prior to making the throw-in pass. What's the difference between purposely bouncing it and dropping it to the floor accidentally? In this case nothing.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.

Extra bit of info.
Can a player bounce pass to another player OOB after a made basket?

This is one that we batted around here for a few days, the answer was surprizing.

NO. The pass must be a direct pass to the teammate also OOB, not a bounce pass. This is from the NFHS, and our State R.I.

However, a player dribbling OOB is not a violation.

In case you all wanted to know.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1