View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 03:02pm
rbruno rbruno is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
Running the endline after a made hoop

Gentlemen:

This happened in a Christmas travel team tournament last week.
NHSF rules.
After a made hoop by Team B, player A-1 picks up the loose ball and steps out of bounds. He runs two steps or so behind the endline before passing to A-2 who has now stepped completely out of bounds next to him. A-2 drops the pass and then picks it up again and completes the throw in to A-3 inbounds.
Team B coach is calling for a violation saying that A-2 cannot drop and pick up the ball "like that". We play on and after the game I explain to him that A-2 has done nothing illegal and can do whatever behind the endline after a made hoop etc. as long as they (A-1, A-2) release the throw in within 5 seconds.
Can't find any precident in the rule/case book to back me up on this, but I'm sure I am correct..... am I??
Reply With Quote