The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
What are the only situations that allow the inbounder to keep the privelage of running the baseline after a made basket? Or, when does it not become a designated spot throw in? I know there was a thread earlier about this, but I am still having a hard time with this one. Maybe I am just making this one too hard.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
When there is a violation on B then A retains the privilege of running the line.

In the case of a common foul on B and the resulting throw-in is along the end-line, A retains the privilege of running the line.

See 7-5-7.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally posted by ctpfive
What are the only situations that allow the inbounder to keep the privelage of running the baseline after a made basket? Or, when does it not become a designated spot throw in? I know there was a thread earlier about this, but I am still having a hard time with this one. Maybe I am just making this one too hard.
Rule 7-5-7 "After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary line."

Our discussion of last week centered around a Double Foul occurring before the throw-in ended. The discussion was lengthy and not settled.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frisco (Dallas), Texas
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally posted by ctpfive
What are the only situations that allow the inbounder to keep the privelage of running the baseline after a made basket? Or, when does it not become a designated spot throw in? I know there was a thread earlier about this, but I am still having a hard time with this one. Maybe I am just making this one too hard.
See all four (4) pages of thread #24365 Can the endline still be run.

http://www.officialforum.com/thread/24365
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
I think one thing we all agreed on is that the non-scoring team retains the privilege if the scoring team violates or commits a common foul. An intentional or flagrant results in a designated spot throw-in. Those are clear from the rule and a case. What was unclear was how POI interacted with 7-5-7.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1