The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 22, 2005, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 20
Here's one for everyone: I was watching an AAU game last weekend and this is what happened. Jump ball to start game, A1 taps ball towards B's basket. A2 catches ball in stride takes one dribble, finger rolls a layup, that hits the back of rim and falls out. Everyone is yelling, so A2 realizes that he has shot at the wrong basket, so he grabs the ball and starts another dribble towards his own basket. What do we have and Why?
All players were confused as well as the officials.
__________________
GO HERD !!!!
Mark Michael
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 22, 2005, 11:18pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
By rule you could have a double dribble as soon as he caught the "rebound." However. In AAU, hit the whistle and give A the ball OOB clearly indicating who is going which way.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 22, 2005, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
By rule you could have a double dribble as soon as he caught the "rebound."
How is it a double dribble?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 22, 2005, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,901
Tony,
Remember that A2 is shooting at B's basket. Therefore, it is not a try.

I'd call the double-dribble violation when he dribbles again. I know that throwing the ball off your opponent's backboard counts as a dribble, but I don't think that the ring is included.



[Edited by Nevadaref on Mar 23rd, 2005 at 12:36 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 22, 2005, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,901
I just checked. There is no mention of the ring in the rule.

Here's the exact wording:

RULE 4 - SECTION 4 BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL

ART. 5 . . . A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower's backboard it does not constitute a part of a dribble.



Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Talking Thank you very much, I'll be here all weekend! Don't forget to tip your waitress!

Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
I just checked. There is no mention of the ring in the rule.
Which is exactly why I asked Snaq why he would whistle a double dribble as soon as the player caught the "rebound."

It's okay, NV, I can wait for you to catch up.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 12:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,901
Sorry, I'm three hours behind you out here on PST. I should have noticed your
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 02:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
It's still an illegal second dribble when they dribble again.

The original post says they dribble once and then attempt a lay up. I suppose you can consider this an interrupted dribble, they then GRAB the rebound, which ends the dribble and then they dribble again.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Hmmm, doesnt seem like a double dribble to me either. A tap or try is the same on either end of the floor, wrong goal or not.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,901
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Hmmm, doesnt seem like a double dribble to me either. A tap or try is the same on either end of the floor, wrong goal or not.
Sorry bud, but that's not true.

RULE 4 - SECTION 40 SHOOTING, TRY, TAP
ART. 2 . . . A try for field goal is an attempt by a player to score two or three points by throwing the ball into a team's own basket.


This play is a double dribble; it is just a matter of when.
Tony and I are saying that bouncing the ball off the ring at the opponent's basket does not constitute a dribble.

When the player catches the ball and dribbles again, that is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Case 4.4.5. If the ball hits the opponent's backboard, it is considered the same as touching the floor. If player A ,in all that play, never touches the ball with both hands, he may continue dribbling, however, if he caught the "rebound" (remember, by rule, this is not a "try"), with both hands and restarted a dribble, it is a double dribble, for touching the ball simoultaneously with both hands during a dribble. You may play the ball off your own backboard (if you deem it a "try"), but the ball coming off the opponent's backboard is considered a continuation of a dribble.

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,901
All well and good, Frank, but the ball never hit the backboard on this play. Go back and check the original post again.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,725
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
By rule you could have a double dribble as soon as he caught the "rebound."
How is it a double dribble?
Because A2 moved his pivot foot and recaught the ball? It's the same as A2 stopping the dribble, throwing the ball over B2, moving and recatching the ball. I think that's classified as an illegal dribble.

In any event, it is a violation and I disagree with snaqwells' comment to give the ball back to A (assuming the jumpers were lined up in the correct direction and A2 was the only one confused).

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,901
I could agree with that Bob. The ball never hit the backboard, so we don't treat it as hitting the floor, so it is not a legal dribble. If the player moved his pivot foot during this fingerroll action and then recaught the ball, that could well fall under casebook play 4.15.4 Sit D part (a), which makes it an illegal dribble at that point.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 23, 2005, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 323
Just be a whole lot easier if the player could make a layup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1