![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Two point shot made with a toe on the 3 point line during play. The covering official incorrectly signals a three. The clock is running and his partner doesn't halt play despite clearly observing the location of the shooter's feet. After the throw-in the opposing team advances the ball to the other end of the court and a foul is called. The officials must correct the error and properly award only two points for the previous goal before the ball becomes live again. |
|
|||
|
Thanks, Got It, I Think ...
So, in the original post, once the ball becomes live to start the third period, it's still not to late to take away the basket, but after that, once the ball becomes dead, and then live, it's too late to change the score.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Correct.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Ok, let's say that the covering official (U) counts the goal and the other official (R) saw it as late, but is unaware that his partner scored it.
They fail to discuss the play during halftime because each one thought it was handled properly and are unaware of any problem. When play resumes in the 3rd quarter the same team who was credited with the goal at the end of the 2nd quarter has the AP arrow. They inbound and score a basket on that possession. The opposing coach now requests a time-out because he believes that the score is wrong. He can't understand why his team is trailing by six instead of only four. He thought that he was only down two at halftime. So now the R becomes aware that his partner incorrectly counted the goal at the end of the 1st half. Since this is a correctable error and the R gets to make the decision when the officials disagree on whether or not a goal shall count, he can still make the change. |
|
|||
|
Referee, Umpire(s), Table ???
Quote:
Good point to include this rule in the thread. Also, if the table gets involved: 3-13-3: If the timer’s signal fails to sound, or is not heard, the timer shall go onto the court or use other means to immediately notify the referee. If in the meantime, a goal has been made or a foul has occurred, the referee shall consult the timer: ART. 1 . . . If table officials agree that time expired before the ball was in flight, the goal shall not count. ART. 2 . . . If table officials agree that the quarter or extra period ended, as in 5-6-2 before the foul occurred, the foul shall be disregarded, unless it was intentional or flagrant. ART. 3 . . . If table officials disagree, the goal shall count and/or the foul shall be penalized, unless the referee has knowledge which alters such ruling.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Okay, the coach thought the goal didn't count even though the official signaled that it did, and then didn't notice the wrong score until after play had started and there was another score. uh-huh Let's just say it is EXTREMELY unlikely that the time limit would come into play for this type of correction.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Ok, try this one.
The R incorrectly counts the goal at the end of the 2nd quarter. Both the U1 and U2 tell him that it was late. The R won't budge. The U1 and U2 don't want to make a scene on the court, so the crew goes to the lockerroom for the intermission. During the intermission and while in the lockerroom the U1 and U2 get in the R's face and tell him that he flat-out blew the call and that he needs to stop being so stubborn and correct it. After some good yelling the R finally relents. When the crew takes the court again, the R goes to the table and changes the call. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Did the R have leave the game or change his shirt due to Blood Saturation? Then the U's need to take him back to the lockroom and "Yell" some more
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Speaking of correctable/non-correctable errors | Rich | Basketball | 4 | Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:53pm |
| Reset shot clock before FT on correctable error? | Lotto | Basketball | 32 | Thu Dec 22, 2005 10:03pm |
| Correctable error 1and 1 foul shot | dknick78 | Basketball | 4 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 01:27pm |
| Half way up | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 9 | Tue Dec 09, 2003 05:04pm |
| T at the half | Matt S. | Basketball | 1 | Thu Feb 24, 2000 09:51am |