The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
You're right...I agree, but an interim post made reference to the blarge....so I interjected...sorry about that....
So what about my double whistle scenario? Since new trail is the one who's supposed to count, does his T stand? Or the personal by the center who thinks the ball is available, but isn't looking for the count?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
So what about my double whistle scenario? Since new trail is the one who's supposed to count, does his T stand? Or the personal by the center who thinks the ball is available, but isn't looking for the count?
My opinion only, but the two must talk it out--quickly--and the new Trail with the count would win out....his count, his call....
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 02:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
My opinion only, but the two must talk it out--quickly--and the new Trail with the count would win out....his count, his call....
The trail is the only one who knows if the count had started yet. If the L calls the foul, it's up to the T to make sure it's the proper type (pesonal or technical).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 03:24pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The trail is the only one who knows if the count had started yet. If the L calls the foul, it's up to the T to make sure it's the proper type (pesonal or technical).
I gotta say, I think this is one case where you could be completely correct in the rule and completely wrong on the court. I can't imagine this being a technical foul, ever.

But hey, if we all agreed on this kind of thing there'd be little need for forums like this.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 04:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
I gotta say, I think this is one case where you could be completely correct in the rule and completely wrong on the court. I can't imagine this being a technical foul, ever.

But hey, if we all agreed on this kind of thing there'd be little need for forums like this.
I actually agree with you, mostly; but it depends on how close she was to the end line. If this happens at the half court line, and A1 is the nearest of her team to the ball; hard not to call it a T. I don't think it would be a hard sell, either.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 04:41pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I actually agree with you, mostly; but it depends on how close she was to the end line. If this happens at the half court line, and A1 is the nearest of her team to the ball; hard not to call it a T. I don't think it would be a hard sell, either.
OK, I agree. Let's say that if it is so strange the technical calls itself, well, then it's there.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 06:04pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I actually agree with you, mostly; but it depends on how close she was to the end line. If this happens at the half court line, and A1 is the nearest of her team to the ball; hard not to call it a T.

What does this have to do with it?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 08:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
What does this have to do with it?
My point is that there are situations that aren't fuzzy at all, and there are some fuzzy ones. If the OP is a bit fuzzy on whether the ball was live; it was live.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
I gotta say, I think this is one case where you could be completely correct in the rule and completely wrong on the court. I can't imagine this being a technical foul, ever.

But hey, if we all agreed on this kind of thing there'd be little need for forums like this.
I was thinking much the same thing: One official has the correct call; one has the right call. Nothing at all like a blarge situation. Either call is a good call. But one is a much better call.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The trail is the only one who knows if the count had started yet. If the L calls the foul, it's up to the T to make sure it's the proper type (pesonal or technical).
Agree, totally....

BTW, even though a blarge isn't the situation in the OP, (and maybe I need a new thread) isn't a BLARGE, in reality, like a multiple foul, (4-19 Article 11) two A players hitting B1 at approximately the same time? The book says we charge both A players with fouls, and shoot 2 sets of whatever...is that being done, by anyone, in reality? And just because it's in the books, do we have to charge the multiple, or do we choose to see one player foul before the other one?
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 05:15pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
Agree, totally....

BTW, even though a blarge isn't the situation in the OP, (and maybe I need a new thread) isn't a BLARGE, in reality, like a multiple foul, (4-19 Article 11) two A players hitting B1 at approximately the same time? The book says we charge both A players with fouls, and shoot 2 sets of whatever...is that being done, by anyone, in reality? And just because it's in the books, do we have to charge the multiple, or do we choose to see one player foul before the other one?
No, it is treated as a double foul, not a multiple foul.

Charge each with a foul. If there is team control, go to POI. If not, go to the AP arrow.

Personally, I would rather have the officials talk and come out with one call, but it's not what the NFHS wants.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
No, it is treated as a double foul, not a multiple foul.

Charge each with a foul. If there is team control, go to POI. If not, go to the AP arrow.

Personally, I would rather have the officials talk and come out with one call, but it's not what the NFHS wants.
I don't understand your explanation. Article 11 is a multiple foul, not a double foul. What is the remedy for that situation, and do we ever charge a double? I have never seen it called (and sure to draw BillyMac's sarcasm about Northern Utah) here in NU....Isn't that one rule we all tend to ignore?
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 06:06pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
I don't understand your explanation. Article 11 is a multiple foul, not a double foul. What is the remedy for that situation, and do we ever charge a double? I have never seen it called (and sure to draw BillyMac's sarcasm about Northern Utah) here in NU....Isn't that one rule we all tend to ignore?
A multiple foul is B1 & B2 fouling A1. A double foul is A1 and B1 fouling each other. Not sure what your question is.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange play Johnny Ringo Basketball 10 Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:08pm
strange play cards2323 Baseball 18 Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:27pm
Strange Play 504BB Basketball 7 Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:24am
Strange Play stripes74 Basketball 4 Wed Feb 23, 2005 01:02am
another strange OOB play canuckrefguy Basketball 5 Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1