The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 10:08pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The ball is not live when it is available; it is live when it is at the disposal of the thrower. There is a big difference.
6-1-2b: The ball becomes live when on a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.

4-4-7b: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to a player after a goal.




So the big difference is?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 10:44pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
6-1-2b: The ball becomes live when on a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.

4-4-7b: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to a player after a goal.




So the big difference is?
That "available" isn't defined.
Interesting point, I guess I wasn't aware "available" was used. Since I didn't think it was there, I was thinking of the word in it's common everyday usage. IOW, the ball could be "available" to a player even though they were no where near it.

play: B1 gets a steal in A's front court and passes to B2 who is cherry-picking underneath B's basket. B2 scores quickly and the ball bounces under the basket. It's "available," yet I don't think anyone is going to start counting until A gets back to grab it and get out of bounds. We are supposed to start counting the moment it becomes available.

BTW, thanks for the correction on the term.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:19pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post

play: B1 gets a steal in A's front court and passes to B2 who is cherry-picking underneath B's basket. B2 scores quickly and the ball bounces under the basket. It's "available," yet I don't think anyone is going to start counting until A gets back to grab it and get out of bounds. We are supposed to start counting the moment it becomes available.

I think this is a time when many officials are too generous in waiting to start the count. If all A's players are 50' away I think most of us will hold the count briefly, especially if one is hustling to get the ball. The problem I see is when B scores and presses and A is deliberately slow to pick up the ball, trying to allow themselves extra time to set up the press break, or sitting on a lead in the last minute of the game.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 02:18pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I think this is a time when many officials are too generous in waiting to start the count. If all A's players are 50' away I think most of us will hold the count briefly, especially if one is hustling to get the ball. The problem I see is when B scores and presses and A is deliberately slow to pick up the ball, trying to allow themselves extra time to set up the press break, or sitting on a lead in the last minute of the game.
Most, maybe, but not me. I give them "reasonable time" to pick it up and then I start counting. I start about 1 or 2 a game before the player picks it up.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
6-1-2b: The ball becomes live when on a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.

4-4-7b: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is available to a player after a goal.
Thinking about how I"ve called this in the past, and the OP, I'd say the ball was probably "available" when the foul happened. However, whose judgment counts? If the new trail (on the endline) hasn't yet started the count, maybe he thinks it wasn't "available". So is it his opinion or mine?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
Thinking about how I"ve called this in the past, and the OP, I'd say the ball was probably "available" when the foul happened. However, whose judgment counts? If the new trail (on the endline) hasn't yet started the count, maybe he thinks it wasn't "available". So is it his opinion or mine?

If you called the foul, I would say it's yours.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you called the foul, I would say it's yours.
Hmmm.....

Gonna have to think about that a little. So I call it personal. P comes in and says, "Ball wasn't available yet, it's a T". Or we've got a double whistle, with P signalling the T. Is this just standard team disagreement? Someone gives, the other one takes it to the table?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
Hmmm.....

Gonna have to think about that a little. So I call it personal. P comes in and says, "Ball wasn't available yet, it's a T". Or we've got a double whistle, with P signalling the T. Is this just standard team disagreement? Someone gives, the other one takes it to the table?
If you call a personal, he has no authority to set aside your call. Double whistle disagreement, according to all the blarge people, I guess you have to charge both.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you call a personal, he has no authority to set aside your call. Double whistle disagreement, according to all the blarge people, I guess you have to charge both.
I am new to this board as you can tell from the number of postings, but I have to tell you, that here in Utah, we'd get slaughtered as refs if we dared to call a "blarge." That's like two cars crashing in the intersection...one has to be red and the other green...can't both be guilty of a foul on the same play.....at least, not in Northern Utah....
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:45pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
I am new to this board as you can tell from the number of postings, but I have to tell you, that here in Utah, we'd get slaughtered as refs if we dared to call a "blarge." That's like two cars crashing in the intersection...one has to be red and the other green...can't both be guilty of a foul on the same play.....at least, not in Northern Utah....
You're preaching to the choir here, my friend.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:45pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
The Beehive State ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
I am new to this board as you can tell from the number of postings, but I have to tell you, that here in Utah, we'd get slaughtered as refs if we dared to call a "blarge." That's like two cars crashing in the intersection...one has to be red and the other green...can't both be guilty of a foul on the same play.....at least, not in Northern Utah....
So in Northern Utah, when the lead blows his whistle, puts up a fist, puts his hand behind his head, and calls, "Player control", and at exactly the same time, the trail blows his whistle, puts up a fist, puts both hands on his hips, and calls, "Block", what do you do, by rule, next? And no fair answering that double whistles should have been covered in pregame, because even if it was, it happened, and now you have to deal with it, as NFHS rules dictate.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you call a personal, he has no authority to set aside your call. Double whistle disagreement, according to all the blarge people, I guess you have to charge both.
That's ridiculous. Can't call the same player for BOTH a personal AND a technical on the same play!! This isn't like a blarge at all. It's like a double whistle with one ref calling PC and the other a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:23am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
That's ridiculous.
I agree

Quote:
Can't call the same player for BOTH a personal AND a technical on the same play!!
I agree, but if these were the signals that were made, according to several in other threads, a preliminary signal commits an official to that particular call.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If two signals are given, then two fouls must be reported.......
Neither official is permitted to simply drop his signal and walk away.

Quote:
This isn't like a blarge at all.
We have two officials who have signaled two different fouls on the same play, which by definition cannot occur on the same play, yet according to a certain case play we, depending on ones particular interpretation of this case play,
may/must report both fouls. Sounds eerily similar to me.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Sun Dec 14, 2008 at 01:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2008, 04:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you call a personal, he has no authority to set aside your call. Double whistle disagreement, according to all the blarge people, I guess you have to charge both.
Don't be .

You are twisting a simple situation into something that it isn't.

That concept is not applicable here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange play Johnny Ringo Basketball 10 Thu Dec 04, 2008 04:08pm
strange play cards2323 Baseball 18 Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:27pm
Strange Play 504BB Basketball 7 Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:24am
Strange Play stripes74 Basketball 4 Wed Feb 23, 2005 01:02am
another strange OOB play canuckrefguy Basketball 5 Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1