|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Foul Definition Help
			 
			
			Made the mistake of doing some reading of the rules book last night. 4-19 Art. 1... A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead. Note: Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter. The only situation where I can imagine a dead ball foul on an airborne shooter is on a dunk or maybe a tip, and the note suggests ignoring the contact unless flagrant or intentional. Why d'ya suppose the 'or on' is included in the definition? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			A1 commences his/her shooting motion and gets hack on the arm by B2.  Referee puts air in his/her whistle. After A1 releases the shot, but before returning to earth, he/she crashes into B3 who has LGP.
		 
				__________________ A-hole formerly known as BNR | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Yes, this is a false double foul. You can't have a bucket due to the player control foul. No players along the lane and Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If the free throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If it's not, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the foul. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				In your sitch, the foul 'ON' the airborne..
			 Quote: 
 I'm asking why the rules book includes fouls 'ON' the airborne shooter (not 'by') when the ball is dead. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Lightbulb on!
			 Quote: 
 you are 100% correct. ha, i had just crafted a 'no i'm not misunderstanding the note' reply... was just reading it before posting.... and my comprehender finally kicked in. Dunker A1 (airborne shooter) throws down and is then fouled by B2: Count the basket. A1 gets a free-throw. Even though A1 was fouled during a dead ball. Perfect. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			tjones1 - Thanks for the touchback! I can't say that I've encountered that particular sitch in my young officiating career. Although I would've waved off the bucket, I doubt that I would've cleared the lane for the FTs. But it makes sense. Now I own that play when/if it ever comes about. And I didn't even have to learn by making the mistake in a live game situation  I love this place! | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Wrong ruling even back then! | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Bobby Cox Has Seen This Signal At Least 132 Times ...
			 
			
			I wish it was the "You're Outta Here" signal that baseball umpires use.  But, unfortunately, it isn't.
		 
				__________________ "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			No. Seriously. Is there a sign to indicate that it was flagrant and the subsequent ejection?
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			No.  The official simply reports that information to the table when reporting the foul and then notifies the Head Coach of the disqualification.
		 | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Taunting Definition | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 12 | Wed Dec 21, 2005 07:02pm | 
| What is the definition of "is"? | rainmaker | Basketball | 39 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 03:49am | 
| new NF definition... | AndrewMcCarthy | Football | 12 | Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:26am | 
| definition please | umpirefour | Baseball | 3 | Tue Oct 16, 2001 09:48am | 
| Foul Tip Definition | JoeT | Baseball | 1 | Thu Aug 10, 2000 01:30am |