The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 09:42am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Foul Definition Help

Made the mistake of doing some reading of the rules book last night.

4-19

Art. 1... A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead.

Note: Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter.

The only situation where I can imagine a dead ball foul on an airborne shooter is on a dunk or maybe a tip, and the note suggests ignoring the contact unless flagrant or intentional.

Why d'ya suppose the 'or on' is included in the definition?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
A1 commences his/her shooting motion and gets hack on the arm by B2. Referee puts air in his/her whistle. After A1 releases the shot, but before returning to earth, he/she crashes into B3 who has LGP.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:42am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Nice explanation BNR. Out of curiosity, how would that sitch play out?

A1 is fouled by B2 but commits PC before landing...
If the try is (un)successful, wave off & shoot 2 FTs for B2s foul?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:49am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Nice explanation BNR. Out of curiosity, how would that sitch play out?

A1 is fouled by B2 but commits PC before landing...
If the try is (un)successful, wave off & shoot 2 FTs for B2s foul?
4.19.9 Situation A

Yes, this is a false double foul. You can't have a bucket due to the player control foul. No players along the lane and Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If the free throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If it's not, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:59am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
In your sitch, the foul 'ON' the airborne..

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
A1 commences his/her shooting motion and gets hack on the arm by B2. Referee puts air in his/her whistle. After A1 releases the shot, but before returning to earth, he/she crashes into B3 who has LGP.
.... shooter occurs while the ball is live. When A1 commits foul the ball is dead.

I'm asking why the rules book includes fouls 'ON' the airborne shooter (not 'by') when the ball is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Made the mistake of doing some reading of the rules book last night.

4-19

Art. 1... A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead.

Note: Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter.

The only situation where I can imagine a dead ball foul on an airborne shooter is on a dunk or maybe a tip, and the note suggests ignoring the contact unless flagrant or intentional.

Why d'ya suppose the 'or on' is included in the definition?
I think you're misreading the note part -- contact on an airborne shooter after the ball is dead (and, yes, it would likley be part of a dunk) does NOT need to be intentional or flagrant to be a foul
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 11:08am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Lightbulb on!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think you're misreading the note part -- contact on an airborne shooter after the ball is dead (and, yes, it would likley be part of a dunk) does NOT need to be intentional or flagrant to be a foul
Bob,

you are 100% correct.
ha, i had just crafted a 'no i'm not misunderstanding the note' reply... was just reading it before posting.... and my comprehender finally kicked in.

Dunker A1 (airborne shooter) throws down and is then fouled by B2:
Count the basket. A1 gets a free-throw. Even though A1 was fouled during a dead ball. Perfect.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 11:14am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
tjones1 - Thanks for the touchback! I can't say that I've encountered that particular sitch in my young officiating career. Although I would've waved off the bucket, I doubt that I would've cleared the lane for the FTs. But it makes sense.

Now I own that play when/if it ever comes about. And I didn't even have to learn by making the mistake in a live game situation

I love this place!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Bob,

you are 100% correct.
ha, i had just crafted a 'no i'm not misunderstanding the note' reply... was just reading it before posting.... and my comprehender finally kicked in.

Dunker A1 (airborne shooter) throws down and is then fouled by B2:
Count the basket. A1 gets a free-throw. Even though A1 was fouled during a dead ball. Perfect.
Here's another such situation:
Wrong ruling even back then!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Made the mistake of doing some reading of the rules book last night.

4-19

Art. 1... A personal foul
Sidebar: What's the signal for a flagrant personal foul?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Bobby Cox Has Seen This Signal At Least 132 Times ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
What's the signal for a flagrant personal foul?
I wish it was the "You're Outta Here" signal that baseball umpires use. But, unfortunately, it isn't.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Sidebar: What's the signal for a flagrant personal foul?
You inform the player to go directly to jail. Do not pass Go. Do not collect $200.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
You inform the player to go directly to jail. Do not pass Go. Do not collect $200.
No. Seriously. Is there a sign to indicate that it was flagrant and the subsequent ejection?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
No. Seriously. Is there a sign to indicate that it was flagrant and the subsequent ejection?
No. The official simply reports that information to the table when reporting the foul and then notifies the Head Coach of the disqualification.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2008, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
No. The official simply reports that information to the table when reporting the foul and then notifies the Head Coach of the disqualification.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taunting Definition Ref Daddy Basketball 12 Wed Dec 21, 2005 07:02pm
What is the definition of "is"? rainmaker Basketball 39 Thu Feb 10, 2005 03:49am
new NF definition... AndrewMcCarthy Football 12 Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:26am
definition please umpirefour Baseball 3 Tue Oct 16, 2001 09:48am
Foul Tip Definition JoeT Baseball 1 Thu Aug 10, 2000 01:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1