![]() |
Foul Definition Help
Made the mistake of doing some reading of the rules book last night.
4-19 Art. 1... A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. A personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead. Note: Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter. The only situation where I can imagine a dead ball foul on an airborne shooter is on a dunk or maybe a tip, and the note suggests ignoring the contact unless flagrant or intentional. Why d'ya suppose the 'or on' is included in the definition? |
A1 commences his/her shooting motion and gets hack on the arm by B2. Referee puts air in his/her whistle. After A1 releases the shot, but before returning to earth, he/she crashes into B3 who has LGP.
|
Quote:
|
Nice explanation BNR. Out of curiosity, how would that sitch play out?
A1 is fouled by B2 but commits PC before landing... If the try is (un)successful, wave off & shoot 2 FTs for B2s foul? |
Quote:
Yes, this is a false double foul. You can't have a bucket due to the player control foul. No players along the lane and Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If the free throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If it's not, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the foul. |
In your sitch, the foul 'ON' the airborne..
Quote:
I'm asking why the rules book includes fouls 'ON' the airborne shooter (not 'by') when the ball is dead. |
Lightbulb on!
Quote:
you are 100% correct. ha, i had just crafted a 'no i'm not misunderstanding the note' reply... was just reading it before posting.... and my comprehender finally kicked in. Dunker A1 (airborne shooter) throws down and is then fouled by B2: Count the basket. A1 gets a free-throw. Even though A1 was fouled during a dead ball. Perfect. |
tjones1 - Thanks for the touchback! I can't say that I've encountered that particular sitch in my young officiating career. Although I would've waved off the bucket, I doubt that I would've cleared the lane for the FTs. But it makes sense.
Now I own that play when/if it ever comes about. And I didn't even have to learn by making the mistake in a live game situation :D I love this place! |
Quote:
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...back-then.html |
Quote:
|
Bobby Cox Has Seen This Signal At Least 132 Times ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36pm. |