The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
The Team A throw in ended with the legal touch by B1, you would resume with the appropriate restart for a double foul in in both NFHS and NCAA.
the difference being that there is team control during a throw-in in the NCAA so there would be POI to restart play. So the ball would be inbounded near mid-court spot throwin nearest the double foul for team A
I believe it is POI for NFHS too, but on a double foul since there is no team control here you go to the AP. the inbound would be spot nearest foul call.
I'm pretty sure you go back to the POI in NFHS also, which is a throw-in for Team A at the original spot. We had a thread about this a few weeks ago, although in that situation the ball wasn't deflected by Team B before the double foul occurred.

If the ball is touched legally do you go to the arrow and if it isn't touched yet do you go back to the POI? I'm confused on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I'm pretty sure you go back to the POI in NFHS also, which is a throw-in for Team A at the original spot. We had a thread about this a few weeks ago, although in that situation the ball wasn't deflected by Team B before the double foul occurred.

If the ball is touched legally do you go to the arrow and if it isn't touched yet do you go back to the POI? I'm confused on this one.
You always go to the POI. But, ...

If the throw in has ended (the case where B1 deflects the ball), then neither team is in control, and there's not a throw-in or FT involved, so the POI will be the arrow.

If the throw-in hasn't ended (the case where B1 does not deflect the ball), then neither team is in control, but there is a throw-in or FT involved, so the POI will be the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
You always go to the POI. But, ...

If the throw in has ended (the case where B1 deflects the ball), then neither team is in control, and there's not a throw-in or FT involved, so the POI will be the arrow.

If the throw-in hasn't ended (the case where B1 does not deflect the ball), then neither team is in control, but there is a throw-in or FT involved, so the POI will be the throw-in.
Okay that's what I thought. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I'm pretty sure you go back to the POI in NFHS also, which is a throw-in for Team A at the original spot. We had a thread about this a few weeks ago, although in that situation the ball wasn't deflected by Team B before the double foul occurred.

If the ball is touched legally do you go to the arrow and if it isn't touched yet do you go back to the POI? I'm confused on this one.
I'm pretty sure that on a double foul you go o the POI and give the ball back to the team in control.

but the issue here is that durring a throw in in NFHS there is no team control
So I think you have to go AP in that case
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
I'm pretty sure that on a double foul you go o the POI and give the ball back to the team in control.

but the issue here is that durring a throw in in NFHS there is no team control
So I think you have to go AP in that case
You ALWAYS use POI after a double foul. It's just that sometimes POI is an A/P throw-in, and other times it's not.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
I'm pretty sure that on a double foul you go o the POI and give the ball back to the team in control.

but the issue here is that durring a throw in in NFHS there is no team control
So I think you have to go AP in that case
See Bob's answer immediately above.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which is correct.... JohnBark Basketball 2 Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:36am
How do you correct this??? Luv4Asian8 Basketball 27 Wed Feb 11, 2004 10:40pm
How to correct? Bart Tyson Basketball 10 Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:06pm
Was I correct? moose69 Basketball 22 Sat Dec 08, 2001 11:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1