The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Official steps in the FT lane and says "Two shots". A1 shooting the 1st of a two shot FT. Shot is missed, B1 rebounds, Official steps in, gets the ball. Horn sounds and the officials are informed it was a 1-1. Now what do you do?
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 32
I would say that it is a correctable error for granting an unmerited free throw and that you should go to the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to BigGref
It depends!

I remember seeing a casebook situation similar to this. If almost all of the players are going for the rebound I think it says you should just "play on" after you realize your mistake. If only the one person relized your mistake, you should probably just go with the old AP arrow, after you find out how much time should be put back.

This is the only fair thing I can think of, anyone else?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
This game was a juco game using NCAA women's rules. I'm interested in how to handle in NCAA and NF.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally posted by BigGref
It depends!

I remember seeing a casebook situation similar to this. If almost all of the players are going for the rebound I think it says you should just "play on" after you realize your mistake. If only the one person relized your mistake, you should probably just go with the old AP arrow, after you find out how much time should be put back.

This is the only fair thing I can think of, anyone else?
But in the original post the ref grabbed the ball after the first shot. I don't think he can just drop the ball and pretend he didn't say "Two!" before the first free throw and act as if nothing had happened.

You have to go with the arrow. Even if he didn't grab the ball, if he had told the players there were 2 shots and some of the players went after the rebound, you didn't give everyone on the court a fair shot at the rebound. Suck it up and correct the mistake properly. Don't take the easy (and in this case wrong) way out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
NFHS
Go with AP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
This game was a juco game using NCAA women's rules. I'm interested in how to handle in NCAA and NF.
Bart,

Go with AP arrow NFHS. Do you mind telling us how this happened?

Mulk
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally posted by ronny mulkey
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
This game was a juco game using NCAA women's rules. I'm interested in how to handle in NCAA and NF.
Bart,

Go with AP arrow NFHS. Do you mind telling us how this happened?

Mulk
I think it happened just the way I described. It wasn't my game, but it sure created a big stir in these parts.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 05:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by BigGref
It depends!

I remember seeing a casebook situation similar to this. If almost all of the players are going for the rebound I think it says you should just "play on" after you realize your mistake. If only the one person relized your mistake, you should probably just go with the old AP arrow, after you find out how much time should be put back.

The case book citation is 8.6.1Sit(a). You go with the AP. There is no time to put back on the clock. It should never have started if the official signalled 2 shots.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Thanks Jurassic.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Talking

didn't really read the whole thing and missed the official getting the ball.

I guess that would be interesting seeing the official try to grab the ball away from players while time was coming off the clock, tough one to explain to coach!!! Will read better in future, promise!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1