The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2001, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 122
Send a message via ICQ to moose69
Alright guys, here's the deal. JV boys game, A is up by 10. I call a foul on a32, at the time i was unaware that it was his 5th. So i'm in the zone reporting, he know's it's his fifth, so as he's leaving he walks by me in the reporting zone he walks by and has the usual choice F*CK word for me. I then blow my whistle, T him. I finish reporting the personal, then report the T. then the scorer tells me that's his 5th then i tell the coach he's now bench personal and DQ'd, i inform A32 he is also DQ'd. My question is, was i correct in not assessing the coach of A an indirect as i had not yet been informed that A had committed 5 fouls, so therefore i could not inform the coach he was bench personal, which is the requirement?
commets??

Tyler
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2001, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
You're half correct (is that possible?) in this situation.

A32 was not yet bench personnel because he becomes bench personell when the coach is informed that A32 is disqualified. If you know, but have not yet told the coach, A32 is still a player, and the indirect T is not charged to the head coach.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2001, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
You're half correct (is that possible?) in this situation.
I must be missing soemthing here. Was is he half correct?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2001, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
You're half correct (is that possible?) in this situation.
I must be missing soemthing here. Was is he half correct?
He was correct in not assesing A's coach with the indirect T, but he did it for the wrong reason. Therefore, half correct.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 04, 2001, 11:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 122
Send a message via ICQ to moose69
ok, how am i half correct? I didn't assess the indirect T because i didn't know he had recived 5 fouls, which actually turned out to be 6th. Since i didn't know that he had committed 5 fouls, i didn't inform the coach.
Also, as an aside kinda, in talking with an experienced offical locally, who is just switching over from fiba and ncaa rules to fed, he didn't know if it was possible for a player to recieve 6 fouls, which in issence is really what happend

comments?

[Edited by moose69 on Dec 4th, 2001 at 10:42 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 12:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
That doesn't make any sense.

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
You're half correct (is that possible?) in this situation.
I must be missing soemthing here. Was is he half correct?
He was correct in not assesing A's coach with the indirect T, but he did it for the wrong reason. Therefore, half correct.
How is he half wrong? He didn't tell the coach that A32 had 5 fouls because he was still reporting the foul when the kid popped off. He didn't assess an indirect to the coach beause he hadn't notified him. He's asking if this was the correct procedure. It was.

So, again, how is he half wrong?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 12:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
a player may recieve up to 7 fouls. 5 personal and 2 technical.
situation: player a1 recieves his 5th personal, on his way to the bench he says, "f you." then he recieves a t. during the remainder of the game he stands up and loudly states the officials suck. whack! that = 7. i have never seen this happen but it could. some may say he could get more than 2 t's if he abuses the refs on his way out.
what do you guy's think. i dont think i would ever hand out more than 2 t's to a player. i would refuse to put the ball in play until the coach or administration removed the player. i would let them know if he does not leave his team has to forfeit. this is a very steep penalty with the fhsaa(florida high school athletic association)
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 12:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
some may say he could get more than 2 t's if he abuses the refs on his way out.

i would refuse to put the ball in play until the coach or administration removed the player. i would let them know if he does not leave his team has to forfeit. this is a very steep penalty with the fhsaa(florida high school athletic association)
You may do that in Florida be we are not allowed to force a player to leave the biulding. You're just asking for trouble, and possibly a lawsuit. If the team decides to remove him, then fine. But I would be extremely careful about forcing a minor to leave a building.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 03:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
my bad, i should have said the visual confines of the playing area(lockerroom).
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally posted by crew
my bad, i should have said the visual confines of the playing area(lockerroom).
Actually this is wrong as well. You can only direct him to the bench, if the coach wants to remove him thats his biz.

Let's put it this way. You make him go to the locker room. He slips in the shower and cracks his gourd open, who are the parents going to come after? You! Why, because you breached the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
In the original situation, no indirect T was assessed because the ref had not informed the player that the player was disqualified. All that matters is when the coach is notified that the player is disqualified.

As to fouls on a player, you can have more than seven. Five fouls DQ's the kid - he can't play, but has to sit on the bench. If he has 1 T already, and gets one while on the bench, you can't double disqualify him - he can stay and get a third, fourth, etc. (of course, now they are indirects against the coach).

BTW, in NF rules (may be different by state association) a player can be ordered from the gym, but he/she MUST be accompanied by an adult.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
Talking He will have supervision

You can get the player to leave when he gets his third T on the bench....cause now the head coach is gonna be able to supervise him in the locker room!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
In the original situation, no indirect T was assessed because the ref had not informed the player that the player was disqualified. All that matters is when the coach is notified that the player is disqualified.
Well, just to clarify, that's not what he said. He asked, "My question is, was i correct in not assessing the coach of A an indirect as i had not yet been informed that A had committed 5 fouls, so therefore i could not inform the coach he was bench personal, which is the requirement?

You do not want to eject a kid from the building. If the coach decides to remove him, then it's his choice, not yours. It doesn't matter what the rules say you can do. Trust me on this.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
My two cents.
In my mind there is a difference between being disqualified and being ejected. (I dont think the rule book actually distinguishes) A disqualified player to me is one who has played and now picks up his 5th personal foul, and has been DQ'd for the rest of the game.

Once a player picks up a flagrant foul or their second T, they have been ejected. The adults who are ejected leave the floor area. High School players who have been ejected have to stay on the bench (so there is adequate supervision) but they have been ejected. They will not get more than 2T's from me. I cannot find in the book where someone can pick up more than 2 because they have been ejected and are non players at that point. If an ejected player is not giving you problems from the bench area, the team has three choices, get him under control... get his parents or other competent administrator to escort/supervise the player someplace else. ( for me it doesnt necessarily need to be outside the gym... it could be one row back and just sitting with them) or we go home. Ejected players and coaches are not going to make a mockery out of a game and turn it into a circus. By issuing more than 2T's to a player that's exactly what they have done is made the game a circus.

In our state (UT) once a player has been ejected, we most notify the State Association, and the kid sits out at least one game. If he caused problems on the bench and we had to have the coach/administrator/parents take care of it, he might be out more than just one game. It would certainly be in my game report, but I am not going to look dopey by also having to include that I called 4 T's on one kid and caused ten point swing in a game.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 05, 2001, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,260
Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green
My two cents.
In my mind there is a difference between being disqualified and being ejected. (I dont think the rule book actually distinguishes) A disqualified player to me is one who has played and now picks up his 5th personal foul, and has been DQ'd for the rest of the game.
There is on formal definition for ejection, only disqualification. Whether from 5 fouls, 2 T's, or a flagrant foul, a player, coach or other bench personnel is disqualified.

Quote:

The adults who are ejected leave the floor area. High School players who have been ejected have to stay on the bench (so there is adequate supervision) but they have been ejected.
The players do not have to stay on the bench. As an official, you can only send them to the bench. However, the coach, if they so choose, may send them out of the gym or to the locker room.


Quote:

They will not get more than 2T's from me. I cannot find in the book where someone can pick up more than 2 because they have been ejected and are non players at that point. If an ejected player is not giving you problems from the bench area, the team has three choices, get him under control... get his parents or other competent administrator to escort/supervise the player someplace else. ( for me it doesnt necessarily need to be outside the gym... it could be one row back and just sitting with them) or we go home. Ejected players and coaches are not going to make a mockery out of a game and turn it into a circus. By issuing more than 2T's to a player that's exactly what they have done is made the game a circus.
Anyone on the bench is still bench personnel. There is nowhere in the book that limits a player to two T's. We, as officials, can not suggest that the coach should remove them in order for the game for continue. We can only penalize the action with a T, even if it is a 3rd, 4th. We must, for liability reasons, not even suggest that the coach remove the player. Hopefully, they will take that action on their own to avoid more T's.

Quote:

...but I am not going to look dopey by also having to include that I called 4 T's on one kid and caused ten point swing in a game.
If the kid is continuing to make trouble, that is all you can do. DQ'd players are still bench personnel. I think the 3rd T should be called. The coach will get the indirect and that will probably be the end of it...the coach doesn't want indirect T's since 3 will get him DQ'd and out of the gym.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1