The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2004, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 109
Send a message via AIM to Luv4Asian8 Send a message via Yahoo to Luv4Asian8
Talking

Watching a JV game. Team A makes a goal, Team B throws-in, Team A presses the backcourt. Trail official gets to 9.95 of his 10-sec BC count when dribbler calls timeout just before division line. Timeout granted. Team B throws-in just before div.line into BC. Trial blows whistle and calls 10-sec violation.

Saw it, giggled and thought it might be interesting to see what you guys think...
__________________
"Always Remember Your First Game" -Victor M. Susanto
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2004, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Methinks the trail then took a ration of crap (well deserved crap for sure) from the coach and fans after that. We do learn from our mistakes, though. Hopfully someone the trail looked up to clued him in later on about how the rule works.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2004, 03:23pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Never make the same mistakes twice!

Sounds like the same type of call I made when I called three seconds and the ball was still in the back court. First year of officiating("1977") and havn't made the same call since!
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2004, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Hate to admit it, but I called the 10 Sec. violation the same way once, years ago.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2004, 08:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Looks to me like the same official shouldn't have been counting on this play. I'm guessing the trail reported the TO. Lead should then administer the throwin as the new trail, right?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2004, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
Looks to me like the same official shouldn't have been counting on this play. I'm guessing the trail reported the TO. Lead should then administer the throwin as the new trail, right?
Snaq
The only switching situations I am aware of are on fouls.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 167
Where was the other official--why not a quick meeting clear it up and get it right!! thats what partners are for--we all make dumb mistakes at times
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by som44
Where was the other official--why not a quick meeting clear it up and get it right!! thats what partners are for--we all make dumb mistakes at times
Yup. The counting official can't be "overruled", but a quick and emphatic meeting of the minds is in order here. After the meeting, the coaches should be told that there was an inadvertant whistle.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
I had something similar last night. I was L after a made basket by A. B inbounds under the basket (can run baseline). A deflects the ball OOB on the sideline. My partner tells B inbounder that he can run the sideline!?! (I find this out after the fact) After B inbounder takes several steps OOB, I call travel. My partner conferences with me and tells me that he told the inbounder that he cold move! Unbelieveable!
__________________
"Who you talkin' to?
You talking to me?
You're gonna be outta
here in about 3 seconds!"
-Tim Higgins
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 365
Disagree ChuckElias. It's our game and our burden to do what is right. The calling official doesn't have to be "overrulled" because of a meeting with his partner. He can change his own call. He called backcourt once team B got the ball. Give it back to them.

Referees that are so strictly by the book that they forget common sense scare me (and coaches).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
Disagree ChuckElias. It's our game and our burden to do what is right. The calling official doesn't have to be "overrulled" because of a meeting with his partner. He can change his own call. He called backcourt once team B got the ball. Give it back to them.

Referees that are so strictly by the book that they forget common sense scare me (and coaches).
Footlocker, Chuck is saying the same thing. Chuck's way to handle it is exactly correct, because an inadvertant whistle is exactly what you have. With the IW B retains possesion since they were in possesion when the IW occured. He is also correct that the call can't be overturned by the other official, but that a conference may show the one official the error of his ways
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
Disagree ChuckElias. It's our game and our burden to do what is right. The calling official doesn't have to be "overrulled" because of a meeting with his partner. He can change his own call. He called backcourt once team B got the ball. Give it back to them.
Hmmm, footlocker, one of us isn't understanding the other. (In particular, I have no idea what you're getting at in the underlined part of your post.) My point was that the 10-second violation was blatently and obviously incorrect. In that situation, the non-calling official may (should) go to the calling official and explain (quickly and emphatically) that why the call is wrong. Then the calling official will go to the coaches and say "Oops", give the ball back to the team who was incorrectly called for the violation and continue play.

__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,026
Quote:
Originally posted by Smoothieking
I had something similar last night. I was L after a made basket by A. B inbounds under the basket (can run baseline). A deflects the ball OOB on the sideline. My partner tells B inbounder that he can run the sideline!?! (I find this out after the fact) After B inbounder takes several steps OOB, I call travel. My partner conferences with me and tells me that he told the inbounder that he cold move! Unbelieveable!
Who was administering the throw-in? If it was you, why is your partner talking to the inbounder? If it was your partner, why were you calling any violation (and, it's nto travelling)?

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 48
RE:

So Chuck, the other official can't over-rule in this case? Man that would make us look like do-do.
__________________
BC
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: RE:

Quote:
Originally posted by Bchill24
So Chuck, the other official can't over-rule in this case? Man that would make us look like do-do.
Chill -- Overrule means to wave off the call. No partner can do that. But the partner can rush in for a quiet conference and then the calling official can change his own call. That doesn't look like do-do -- it looks like getting it right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1