The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 09:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 09:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Is it a Myth or just a mythtake?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.
Billy, I don't think the OP represents a myth. To me, in order to be a myth, it has to be a widely held misconception. In the OP, the official needs to look up when a throwin ends. He's right that you can't have a backcourt violation during a throwin; he's just wrong about when the throwin ends.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Let's add this...

Offensive player is being pressure by D in FC moving toward BC...throw in come from sideline and is tapped by offensive player and ball goes to BC where he runs and gaines control.

BC violation or no?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 09:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
No. While the throwin was over, team control was never established in the FC. In order to call a legitimate BC violation, the ball must have FC status while team control is in effect. FWIW, without team control FC/BC status are meaningless; they are dependent upon team control.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 10:10pm
BLS BLS is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central IL
Posts: 27
Is this correct?

I understand there is no backcourt violation during/after the throw-in, but want to make sure I'm right on when team control, player control, and front-court/backcourt status is established.

During a throwin, A2 jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball in mid-air, and lands in his backcourt.

- When A2 secures the ball in mid-air:
* The throw in ends (actually ends as soon as A2 touches the ball, it
doesn't have to be secured.)
* Team A has team control
* A2 has player control
* A2 has front-court status while in the air, and has back-court status
when he lands in the back-court.

- No backcourt violation because A1 caught the ball while both feet were in the air, and Team A was not in control immediately before he caught the pass.

Is this all correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLS View Post
I understand there is no backcourt violation during/after the throw-in, but want to make sure I'm right on when team control, player control, and front-court/backcourt status is established.

During a throwin, A2 jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball in mid-air, and lands in his backcourt.

- When A2 secures the ball in mid-air:
* The throw in ends (actually ends as soon as A2 touches the ball, it
doesn't have to be secured.)
* Team A has team control
* A2 has player control
* A2 has front-court status while in the air, and has back-court status
when he lands in the back-court.

- No backcourt violation because A1 caught the ball while both feet were in the air, and Team A was not in control immediately before he caught the pass.

Is this all correct?
Yes, that is all correct. The only reason that what you describe is not a violation is because there is a specific rule which allows for an exception to the normal backcourt provisions.
The concepts of player control, team control, when the throw-in ends, and fc/bc status remain consistent throughout the game.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
The OP is unclear

did the player catch the ball with one foot on the floor then step in the back court, Clearly violation.
if the player was airborne caught the ball then the player has the right to land and can not be called for a back court violation if one foot lands in either court in any order.

But the throw in ends when the ball is legally touched on the court which would be when the ball is touched and the players foot is on the floor.

The exception here is that the airborne player is allowed to land getting both feet down safely.

I do agree with Snaqs it is the fact that once the ball is legally touched on the floor the throw in is over then the violation occurs.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 10:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
FWIW, without team control FC/BC status are meaningless; they are dependent upon team control.
What exactly do you mean by that?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 10:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
What exactly do you mean by that?
I meant it literally.

FC and BC are only significant once team control has been established.

Unless you can show me a rule which refers to FC or BC when there is no team control. You have been known to prove me wrong before on rules; got something?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 01:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I meant it literally.

FC and BC are only significant once team control has been established.
I just wished to check that you weren't saying that FC and BC status didn't exist without team control. The FC/BC status of a player or the ball may be not matter most of the time without team control, but does exist and can certainly be determined.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Unless you can show me a rule which refers to FC or BC when there is no team control. You have been known to prove me wrong before on rules; got something?
Ok, now you really made me think about this one, and the best that I can do is come up with some plays in which either the location of the players or the ball matters to the subsequent administration of the game, but during which there was no team control. However, whether that location is FC or BC isn't really important. All that is important is that the rules instruct us to go to a point nearest that location. So I guess that I have to agree with your contention that FC/BC distinction isn't important on plays where team control doesn't exist, as long as we acknowledge that there is independent relevance to the location of the players and the ball and that location can impact the administration of the game.

Consider these plays:
1. A1 has the ball for a throw-in along the endline following a goal by Team B. He tries to throw the ball the length of the floor to A2, but B3 standing in the FT lane (a) nearest Team B's basket, (b) near the division line, or (c) nearest Team A's basket kicks the ball. Where's the new throw-in location?

2. With only six seconds remaining in the game and the score tied, Team A has an endline throw-in. A1's throw-in pass is immediately deflected by B1 who is standing near the endline in the backcourt of Team A. The ball continues to midcourt where A3 and B3 commit a double personal foul while going for the ball, but before either player is able to touch it. The official sounds the whistle for the double foul with two seconds left. How is the game resumed?

3. B1 attempts a long throw-in pass from a designated spot near the FT line extended in his backcourt. The pass is deflected near the point of origin by A2 who is standing inbounds near the thrower, but the ball continues in flight and strikes the backboard of Team B. The official inadvertently sounds the whistle. The AP arrow favors Team B. When play resumes who get the ball and from where is the ensuing throw-in?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which is correct.... JohnBark Basketball 2 Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:36am
How do you correct this??? Luv4Asian8 Basketball 27 Wed Feb 11, 2004 10:40pm
How to correct? Bart Tyson Basketball 10 Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:06pm
Was I correct? moose69 Basketball 22 Sat Dec 08, 2001 11:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1