The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 08, 2002, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Three shots was wrong.... No doubt.
I want to walk through this simply and logically.

We never negate a violation or penalty once it is called.

If we truly decide it was an inadvertent whistle, then we put the ball in play using the inadvertent rule which either gives it back to the team with the ball or it is a jump because of control issues.

The question is... Is this an inadvertent whistle or not?
If the whistle is inadvertent then we would just give the ball back to the shooter state the whistle was inadvertent and go on with no violation.

My perspective is that in this case the violation was recognized by the official and called. (The official just did not know how to administer it and blew the whistle)

Since we dont negate violations called, and it was a clear violation, I think you would shoot it, administer violation if he missed it, and then go to the second one.

This sounds like I am agrreing with the NCAA and Mark but the simple logic would leave me to follow that conclusion. Particularly giving the time out scenario as well.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1