The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 97
Slapping the backboard

Gentlemen

AAU Tourney yesterday 16U. Good game. Player A-1 drives to the hoop.
Gets fouled in the act and my partner (lead) calls the foul. Ball goes in... although neither of us sees it go in. I know .. its my call as trail. I'm preoccupied with Player B-1 who slaps the backboard pretty hard after the shot.
I lost sight of the ball cause I was trying to quickly decide if I should "T" him up for the hard slap. I didn't call it a tech for slapping, but now I don't know if the ball went in or not.
Everyone in the gym must have seen the ball go in . I check with my partner and tell him "I didn't see it go in, but that I had lost sight. I thought if I didn't know it went in then we can't call it so.
Two questions on the rulings. We eventually checked with the table (They said it went in) and ruled a made basket with one free throw.
If I had blown the technical for slapping the backboard ..... do we still count the hoop with the foul?? How do you rule this mess?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 10:50am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
The two calls have nothing to do with each other. If the player is fouled in the act and the ball goes in, the basket counts. Sure, that's on your list of things to watch, and you should have actually seen the ball go in, but since you didn't, checking with the table is acceptable. The T for the backboard slap is what it is. If the player deliberately slaps the board, and the slap was not part of a legitimate block attempt, it is a technical foul. You either call it or choose to ignore it, which probably happens more often than it should.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno
Gentlemen

AAU Tourney yesterday 16U. Good game. Player A-1 drives to the hoop.
Gets fouled in the act and my partner (lead) calls the foul. Ball goes in... although neither of us sees it go in. I know .. its my call as trail. I'm preoccupied with Player B-1 who slaps the backboard pretty hard after the shot.
I lost sight of the ball cause I was trying to quickly decide if I should "T" him up for the hard slap. I didn't call it a tech for slapping, but now I don't know if the ball went in or not.
Everyone in the gym must have seen the ball go in . I check with my partner and tell him "I didn't see it go in, but that I had lost sight. I thought if I didn't know it went in then we can't call it so.
Two questions on the rulings. We eventually checked with the table (They said it went in) and ruled a made basket with one free throw.
If I had blown the technical for slapping the backboard ..... do we still count the hoop with the foul?? How do you rule this mess?

1. If the slapping of the backboard was an attempt to block the shot. I would have ignored the slapping. No T.

2. Nothing wrong with asking the table if neither of you saw the ball pass through the basket from above.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 11:28am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,874
Wired ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Nothing wrong with asking the table if neither of you saw the ball pass through the basket from above.
Similar problem. Girls varsity. As the trail, I was watching something on the floor, not what I was supposed to be watching at the basket level, and may have missed something. Three point shot attempt hits the ring, and bounces high into the air off the ring. Two players had been doing a little extra pushing during the game, so, as the trail, I decided to take a peak at them, to see if a foul should be called, and whom to call it on. Next thing to happen, is that the ball goes in. I signal a three. Coach complains that the ball hit an overhead wire, before going in. My partner can't help me, because he was keeping his eyes focused on the rebounders on the floor, which is what he's supposed to be doing. I could tell by the coach's tone, and the reaction of the players, and the fans, that the ball probably touched the wire. Could I have gone to the table for help? Any applicable rule, or case book, citations, please?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 11:30am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,874
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Could I have gone to the table for help? Any applicable rule, or case book, citations, please?
Excellent question, honestly, I could probaly argue R 2-11-11. However, that is stretching it a bit. I could argue 2-13.3 that deals with timing mistakes. (does not apply in the situation). So, the only half legitimate stance I may present is Good Judgement of the personnel at the table.. I would go to table for assistance "IF" and only "IF" me or my partner missed a call. Something like the ball touching the wire will not be one of them.
__________________
truerookie

Last edited by truerookie; Sun Jun 08, 2008 at 06:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 01:41pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Girls varsity. As the trail, I was watching something on the floor
Did you get her number? HAHA - double pun!
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 05:40pm
Whack! Get Out!!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 1,029
Ignore the slap and concentrate on the ball going in

This is almost never a technical foul and too many officials get caught up with this rule. The rule is intended to address unsportsmanlike conduct for slapping the backboard out of frustration, not hitting the backboard in an attempt to block a shot (even if you *know* that the player has no real chance of blocking it -- he might think he does!)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad
Ignore the slap and concentrate on the ball going in

This is almost never a technical foul and too many officials get caught up with this rule. The rule is intended to address unsportsmanlike conduct for slapping the backboard out of frustration, not hitting the backboard in an attempt to block a shot (even if you *know* that the player has no real chance of blocking it -- he might think he does!)
Sorry, Brad, I know that it's your board, but I have to disagree. The first thing upon which to focus is the possible unsporting behavior. Taking care of the conduct of the players is primary. A simple basket is not going to be that much of a problem. You can always get some help from a partner or the table crew on that. Plus, I would think that most of the players would honestly tell you whether or not the ball went in.

Officials aren't paid to watch baskets, they are there to make the tough decisions. Technical fouls for slapping the backboard is definitely in that category. In fact, the NFHS has made this a POE for the upcoming season.

2008-09 POINTS OF EMPHASIS
...
4. SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that "intentionally slapping or striking the backboard" is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 09:41pm
Whack! Get Out!!!
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 1,029
The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration.

I've never seen a player do this and in the cases where I have seen a technical called by officials the player was not "drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration".

Not knowing whether a basket was good or not because you were focusing on whether or not to assess a technical foul for slapping the backboard is inexcusable. These types of technicals call themselves. If you have to think about whether or not the slap merits a technical foul or not, it doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 05:03am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad
The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration.

I've never seen a player do this and in the cases where I have seen a technical called by officials the player was not "drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration".

Not knowing whether a basket was good or not because you were focusing on whether or not to assess a technical foul for slapping the backboard is inexcusable. These types of technicals call themselves. If you have to think about whether or not the slap merits a technical foul or not, it doesn't.
I have....and the subsequent "T" called was well deserved.

Having said that, fwiw I agree completely with everything else that you said.

Personally, I wonder if the FED put in that POE because of all the officials that wrongfully insist that a backboard whack can also be BI. Lord knows that we get enough of 'em on this forum every year.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad

Not knowing whether a basket was good or not because you were focusing on whether or not to assess a technical foul for slapping the backboard is inexcusable. These types of technicals call themselves. If you have to think about whether or not the slap merits a technical foul or not, it doesn't.
Absolutely agree. And while it may be easy (and embarrassing IMO) to ask the table whether the ball went in you can't ask them if you missed BI/GT on the shot after the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Absolutely agree. And while it may be easy (and embarrassing IMO) to ask the table whether the ball went in you can't ask them if you missed BI/GT on the shot after the foul.
And, you can more easily see / rule on the slap out of the corner of your eye / by using your ears than you can rule on the basket or BI/GT.

Focus on what you need to focus on; get the rest by "feel."
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 08:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Focus on what you need to focus on; get the rest by "feel."
Helpful advise when officiating the annual Hugh Hefner Playboy Bunnies for Charity basketball game.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 09:20am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Helpful advise when officiating the annual Hugh Hefner Playboy Bunnies for Charity basketball game.
Charity?

Would that be "Implants For Needy Centerfolds"?

I think I saw the telethon. Four times. To date.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD OFISHE8 Basketball 4 Sat Dec 18, 2004 09:12am
slapping of the backboard timharris Basketball 2 Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:09pm
Slapping the Backboard rpirtle Basketball 22 Wed Feb 05, 2003 10:16am
slapping backboard BigDave Basketball 24 Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:53pm
Slapping the backboard JWC Basketball 29 Fri Sep 28, 2001 02:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1