The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to rpirtle Send a message via Yahoo to rpirtle
I know you guys have already answered this before. But can you indulge me and help me out on the following sitch. Here is how the scenario was described to me (varsity boys high school game):

Player A1 goes in for a layup. Player B1 attempts to block the shot. Player B1 misses the ball and inadvertantly slaps the backboard. This causes the ball (which is resting on the ring) to deflect (or bounce) off the ring and the try is not successful.

The official that described the situation to me said both officials blew their whistles. However, when they got together, they were not in agreement as to what violation had just occurred. One thought the play was basket interference and the try should be counted. The other stated that slapping the backboard was a "T" and Team A should shoot freethrows.

To complicate matters, I indicated I thought it was basket interference and the try should be counted. But one of my peers feels this situation does not meet the criteria of BI and a third option is actually the correct answer...a "no call". Please help.
__________________
I'm getting what I want...by helping others get what they want.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 02:57pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Thumbs down No Basket Interference!!!

If the play happen as it was discribed, there should have been nothing to call. You cannot have Basket Interference (need to read the definitions) by touching the backboard at all in the first place. You could have a T if the officials feel that the action was not appart of a block attempt. But as long as the block attempt was missed or simply inadvertently hit the backboard by the defender in this case, you have to just leave this alone.

Your friends did what many do, they listen to fans instead of the actual rulebook. This is one of those "Basketball Myths" that Referee Magazine has written about a few times over the years. This is probably why they did not know what to do.

Peace

__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 164
Send a message via AIM to stewcall
Quote:
Originally posted by rpirtle
I know you guys have already answered this before. But can you indulge me and help me out on the following sitch. Here is how the scenario was described to me (varsity boys high school game):

Player A1 goes in for a layup. Player B1 attempts to block the shot. Player B1 misses the ball and inadvertantly slaps the backboard. This causes the ball (which is resting on the ring) to deflect (or bounce) off the ring and the try is not successful.

The official that described the situation to me said both officials blew their whistles. However, when they got together, they were not in agreement as to what violation had just occurred. One thought the play was basket interference and the try should be counted. The other stated that slapping the backboard was a "T" and Team A should shoot freethrows.

It can not be basket interference- You can not count the shot. If the vibration was rules strong enough to to jar the ball from the basket one could call a T. When this is discussed at our board- most say the slapping unless clearly intentional is ignored and play continues
Stew in VA
CVBOA

To complicate matters, I indicated I thought it was basket interference and the try should be counted. But one of my peers feels this situation does not meet the criteria of BI and a third option is actually the correct answer...a "no call". Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 122
Send a message via ICQ to moose69
No call for a legitimate shot block attempt. Good job by the officals to get together and talk, but what result did they come up with? As I said, there should be no call as long as they are trying to block the shot.


Tyler
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 285
Same answer here
http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...?threadid=6569
__________________
To tolerate mediocrity is to foster it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to rpirtle Send a message via Yahoo to rpirtle
Talking

Thanks for the replies. One more question, if you don't mind. Am I correct is saying that we interpret the Rule Book to say that, "A player shall not, while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or "intentionally" cause the ring to vibrate"? Although the word "intentionally" does not appear in the Rule Book before the phrase "cause the ring to vibrate", we interpret that this was the intent of the rule. Correct?

Again, thanks for everyone's help.

PS - In answer to your question, Moose, the "R" in the game (a new transfer to our chapter and a D1 official on the women's side) indicated he was positive of his high school rules knowledge and ruled that slapping the backboard was an automatic "T". They allowed Team A to shoot two free throws. Guess you're never too old to learn...that applies to me as well...
__________________
I'm getting what I want...by helping others get what they want.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 04:28pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,776
Quote:
Originally posted by rpirtle
(a new transfer to our chapter and a D1 official on the women's side)
Damn those NCAA Women's refs!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 04:42pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Quote:
Originally posted by rpirtle
Thanks for the replies. One more question, if you don't mind. Am I correct is saying that we interpret the Rule Book to say that, "A player shall not, while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or "intentionally" cause the ring to vibrate"? Although the word "intentionally" does not appear in the Rule Book before the phrase "cause the ring to vibrate", we interpret that this was the intent of the rule. Correct?

Again, thanks for everyone's help.

PS - In answer to your question, Moose, the "R" in the game (a new transfer to our chapter and a D1 official on the women's side) indicated he was positive of his high school rules knowledge and ruled that slapping the backboard was an automatic "T". They allowed Team A to shoot two free throws. Guess you're never too old to learn...that applies to me as well...
With all due respect to your D1 Official transfer, I would probably assume that he does not see alot of "above the rim" play on the Women's side. I am speaking partly from experience having done some D3 games and officiating a few D1 prospects in HS. Not many girls are able to consistently slap the backboard.

I do not have the rulebook in front of me, but the slap has to be intentional. If you read the casebook, there is a play that discribes an accidentally (or at least there was in the book) slapping the backboard and requiring nothing to be called. So it seems like even the guys at the top can make mistakes.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 05:18pm
Int Int is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 19
Case 10.3.6 Comment. The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional or deliberate contact. Contact which occurs incidentally in play is allowed but when it is so forceful it cannot be ignored... I'll stop there. If the slap causes the structure to vibrate and the ball is affected, this cannot be ignored.
Technical foul, not basket interference.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally posted by Int
Case 10.3.6 Comment. The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional or deliberate contact. Contact which occurs incidentally in play is allowed but when it is so forceful it cannot be ignored... I'll stop there. If the slap causes the structure to vibrate and the ball is affected, this cannot be ignored.
Technical foul, not basket interference.
That only applies if it is "intentional", you should have finished the sentence in the case book.

"....ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to player or vent frustration..."

A legit attempt to block a shot that vibrates Backboard is nothing regardless of what ball does. IMO it does seem though that this may cause ball not to go in once in a while. Maybe NFHS will realize this and make an exception to call BI?.? Until then it is nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
How about this....NCAA rules

Team B leads Team A 76-73 with :05 left in second half.

A1 attempts a 3-point shot

Just before ball hits rim, B1 violently slaps backboard, causing it to shake. Shot bounces off rim and is no good.

Time expires.

A "T" here gives two free throws, A loses by one.

Basket interference counts the hoop...game tied.

What do you do?

Obviously no legit attempt by B1 to block shot...what is the correct call here?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 06:49pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
The correct call is to charge B1 with a T in the score book,no FT's are shot because 2 points won't determine a winner,Team B wins by 3 and you all go for a brownpop. That's both NFHS and NCAA rules.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by rpirtle
Player A1 goes in for a layup. Player B1 attempts to block the shot. Player B1 misses the ball and inadvertantly slaps the backboard. This causes the ball (which is resting on the ring) to deflect (or bounce) off the ring and the try is not successful.
If the ball was resting on the ring when the backboard was slapped, then the player couldn't possibly have been trying to block the shot.

WHACK!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
Thanks, Jurrassic, but I'm wondering if that's a rule that may be reviewed someday.

Taking away a 3-point opportunity but penalizing only 2 FT's could conceivably have some teams slapping the backboard on purpose in some situations.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 19, 2003, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Thanks, Jurrassic, but I'm wondering if that's a rule that may be reviewed someday.

Taking away a 3-point opportunity but penalizing only 2 FT's could conceivably have some teams slapping the backboard on purpose in some situations.
I doubt it.

If the 3-pointer is good, we go to OT.

If a player slaps the backboard and the shot is good, we lose the game (it's unlikely that the best shooter on the team is going to miss two in a row).

I don't think a coach is going to take that chance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1