The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 05, 2002, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 7
I had this happen in a game I was coaching, just curious about the ruling.

We throw a length of the court pass toward our hoop after a made basket by the opposition. Well the pass is over thrown and bounces a few times toward the baseline.

My player, being much smarter than I gave him credit for. Sprints toward the ball, even with no chance to save it in play and slides on the ground, going out of bounds, but gets under the ball and touches it before the ball actually hits out of bounds.

The ref signals to place the ball in bounds back at the original throw in. I question this, get no response, call a time-out to confer, and the reason I get was that we had no chance of saving it into play, that my players only goal was to make sure the opponent had to go the length of the court. I say, yes that is true, but it was a smart play and he did touch it before it went out of bounds. Well I lost the argument. Luckily we defended well and did not give up the basket at the other end.

What is your take on this.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1