View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 05, 2002, 03:48pm
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
When the out of bounds player touches the ball, is it an out of bounds violation (in which case the throw in would be at the new spot) or a throw-in violation (in which case the ball would come back to the original spot)?

Let's take a look at the rule. (This is from the NCAA rulebook; I don't have the NF one.)

Rule 9, Section 4. Throw-in
Art. 1. The thrower-in shall not:
b. Fail to pass the ball directly into the playing court so that after it crosses the boundary line, it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the playing court before going out of bounds.

Note the explicit "inbounds or out of bounds" statement. This is not a throw-in violation, but an out of bounds violation. Ball should be spotted where the out of bounds player touched it.
Reply With Quote