The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
So, one official yields his call to the other. This seems far more reasonable than calling a block and a charge on the same play, which, by definition is pretty much impossible.
We're not going to argue with you about this. That would be

So here's the NFHS rule straight from the book. You can read it for yourself and take your argument to the committee:

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 01:02am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
We're not going to argue with you about this. That would be

So here's the NFHS rule straight from the book. You can read it for yourself and take your argument to the committee:

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36)
First, exactly who do you mean when you say we?

What constitutes a call? The officials may have originally had conflicting signals, but one changed his call. What is wrong with that?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 01:28am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
First, exactly who do you mean when you say we?

What constitutes a call? The officials may have originally had conflicting signals, but one changed his call. What is wrong with that?
Well no one speaks for me.

I will say that what is wrong with "that" is the fact the rules do not support that point of view. This is not a situation where there is wiggle room. And if the rule sets want to change the rule that is fine with me. But even if the rules are changing someone is going to feel the officials made an arbitrary decision that is not going to look fair. And that is why I would have a problem with getting together and choosing one call over the other in this kind of situation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
First, exactly who do you mean when you say we?

What constitutes a call? The officials may have originally had conflicting signals, but one changed his call. What is wrong with that?
You're apparently arguing what the rule "should be." The OP, and the other responses, deal with what the rule "is."

The rule is clear.

That said, there might be a better rule. If we're all clear on what is being discussed, the discussion will (might) go better.

(and, to be clear, this isn't the only thread in which this is an issue)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 09:57am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
We are talking about 4.19.8 Sit. C are we not? Is there anywhere else that refers to this as being a double foul? My problem with this has always been that it cannot be both a charge and a block, but has to be one or the other by definition. If the shooter pushed off with one arm while being hacked on the other arm, maybe, but if we are talking block/charge torso to torso, it has to be one or the other. If both officials stick with their original "call" we have a double foul with this case play for support, even though by definition what we have is impossible. In reality, even if both officials made a (too) quick signal, why not treat this situation just as we would if both had simply gone up with a fist. Go with one call, reached by quick eye contact if possible, by a brief conference if not possible.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 10:06am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It doesn't have to be anywhere else. This case play is definitive and authoritative.

Also, I disagree with those who say it's impossible. B1 sliding in a bit late while A1 reaches out and pushes B1 away with his forearm. They're both guilty.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Also, I disagree with those who say it's impossible. B1 sliding in a bit late while A1 reaches out and pushes B1 away with his forearm. They're both guilty.
While that is a block on B1, it is NOT a charge on A1. It is a PC foul, but not a charge...it's illegal use of hands or a push.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 11:59am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
While that is a block on B1, it is NOT a charge on A1. It is a PC foul, but not a charge...it's illegal use of hands or a push.
While you're right, in real speed, it's indistinguishable.
Also, the signals are going to be the same as what we consider a blarge, so again, it's indistinguishable.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 12:08pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It doesn't have to be anywhere else. This case play is definitive and authoritative.

Also, I disagree with those who say it's impossible. B1 sliding in a bit late while A1 reaches out and pushes B1 away with his forearm. They're both guilty.
Even if B1 would have been late, if A1 reaches out and pushes him, sounds like a PC foul to me.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2008, 12:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It's possible for this push to occur simultaneously with the blocking foul (contact on the torso).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2008, 07:05pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36)
Does there have to be a shot and/or an airborne shooter for this case to apply?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2008, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Does there have to be a shot and/or an airborne shooter for this case to apply?
No, this is just to clearly indicate that the consequences of a PC foul are no longer valid when it turns into a double foul.....the basket counts if it goes. Even without the shot, it is no longer a PC foul and will be resumed at the POI as if it were a player without the ball that was part of the double foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 07:37am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
No, this is just to clearly indicate that the consequences of a PC foul are no longer valid when it turns into a double foul.....
Just to clarify (I'm sure Camron already knows this), the reason the consequences of a PC foul no longer apply is that it is not a player control foul at all. By definition, a player control foul is a COMMON FOUL committed by the player in control of the ball. But a double foul, by definition, is NOT a common foul. Therefore, the charge committed by the ballhandler cannot be a player control foul. So the ball does not immediately become dead if the try has already been released.

Hope that makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2008, 10:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Does there have to be a shot and/or an airborne shooter for this case to apply?
Now you're overthinking it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1