The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Question? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/42612-question.html)

cornhole21 Mon Mar 10, 2008 05:14pm

Question?
 
Ball in flight and you have a collision ,one calls a block and the other official calls a charge. Ball goes in the basket. What happens next????? Does the basket count and yopu go to the arrow????? Help

Adam Mon Mar 10, 2008 05:22pm

What rule set?
NFHS and NCAA men this is, by rule, a double foul. Count the basket and charge both players with a personal foul. Ball goes to the non-scoring team for an endline throwin. If the ball does not go through the basket, you'll go to the arrow to determine who gets the ball.

NCAA women, the officials must get together and decide which foul is correct.

Mwanr1 Mon Mar 10, 2008 05:34pm

Why do officials get together for NCAA women and not NFHS or NCAA men?

socalreff Mon Mar 10, 2008 06:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Why do officials get together for NCAA women and not NFHS or NCAA men?

Because they are more highly evolved and don't let their egos get in the way as much. :p

Mwanr1 Mon Mar 10, 2008 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalreff
Because they are more highly evolved and don't let their egos get in the way as much. :p

:cool:

Camron Rust Mon Mar 10, 2008 06:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Why do officials get together for NCAA women and not NFHS or NCAA men?

That's is what the respective rules sets say to do.

Mwanr1 Mon Mar 10, 2008 06:48pm

Where did you get this information from?

just another ref Mon Mar 10, 2008 07:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Why do officials get together for NCAA women and not NFHS or NCAA men?


In NFHS, refs can and do get together and decide on one call.

Mark Padgett Mon Mar 10, 2008 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Where did you get this information from?

Um, maybe from the respective rule books. Ya' think?

Back In The Saddle Mon Mar 10, 2008 09:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
In NFHS, refs can and do get together and decide on one call.

Can and do? Certainly. But that's not what the rules say to do when two officials have made opposing calls.

BktBallRef Mon Mar 10, 2008 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Where did you get this information from?

NCAA Women's rule book.

Adam Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
In NFHS, refs can and do get together and decide on one call.

Sometimes. Sometimes it's just the first to the table (had a senior ref in our association do it that way this year. They all laughed about it later.)

That covers the "do." The "can," however, depends on your definition of "can." By rule, it's not allowed. In practice, it probably happens more often than not.

just another ref Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
Can and do? Certainly. But that's not what the rules say to do when two officials have made opposing calls.

So, one official yields his call to the other. This seems far more reasonable than calling a block and a charge on the same play, which, by definition is pretty much impossible.

Nevadaref Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref
So, one official yields his call to the other. This seems far more reasonable than calling a block and a charge on the same play, which, by definition is pretty much impossible.

We're not going to argue with you about this. That would be http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...s/banghead.gif

So here's the NFHS rule straight from the book. You can read it for yourself and take your argument to the committee:

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalreff
Because they are more highly evolved and don't let their egos get in the way as much. :p


I am probably going to catch a lot of grief for what I am about to say, but so be it.

I have officiated women's college basketball since 1974 and I have many friends that still officiate either men's or women's college Div. I. BUT, while they are in the minority, there are far too many female college officials who officiate women's college basketball that have ego's the size of the moon. The vast majority of the ego-manical female officials are the young one's who are just coming into the game that think they know everything and deserve everything because they are females.

I have heard some of these officials complain about how a college forgot to provide towels after the game. And I just wanted to sit them in a timeout for about six months or complaining about travel per diem. I remember the first AIAW Large College Regional (today's NCAA Div. I) I officiated. I was paid $0.08/mile (one way) for travel expeneses. The officials' motel rooms were paid by the AIAW. There were two officials to a room (I did not have to share a room because I was the only male official assigned to the regional). We paid for our own meals. We were paid (wait for it, wait for it) $15 per game and officiated three games per day; the regional was a double elimination tournament back then. And when the game was over all of the coaches and players shook hands with the game officials and thanked them for officiating the game.

Ah, those were the days.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. The NCAA Women's CCA Manual has this play correct because it realizes that by rule (definition), it is impossible to have a "blarge." Either the defender had obtained (NFHS)/established (NCAA Men's/Women's and FIBA) a legal guarding position before the contact occurs or the defender has not. Right or wrong, when I am officiating a NFHS, FIBA, or NCAA Men's game, I pregame "blarges" out of existence.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1