The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 09:23pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by msavakinas
There's a chance I'm missing something here... and I probably am.

but I've got it's out of bounds and it's B's ball, and the throwin did end when it was legally touched inbounds by B, which happened immediately prior (split second) to the out of bounds.
Yup, you're missing case book play 6.4.5SitB as already cited.

Where you're getting screwed up is in the definition of a throw-in. Take a look at rules 4-42-4&5. To have a throw-in, the ball must be released by the thrower directly into the court. Article 5 also says that the the throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player. In the play being discussed, the ball was NEVER released or passed. Ergo....the throw-in never ended.

Make sense now?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1