The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 02:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
AP question

I know I'm missing something, but here's the scenario.
AP throwin for A.
Legal held ball between thrower and B1.
Who gets the ball?

Arrow switches when the throwin ends, which happens when ball is legally touched on the playing court. This tells me it should be B's ball, but the devil on my shoulder keeps telling me it should stay with A. What am I missing, 'cause if the devil on my shoulder is right, then that's a precedent I'd love to go forward with.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
that little devil on your shoulder is the coach of A. Ignore him.

SORRY - missed the part that the thrower still had the ball.

Last edited by wisref2; Wed Jan 30, 2008 at 03:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
6.4.5 says not to change the arrow and the subsequent throwin will be an AP throwin for A.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I know I'm missing something, but here's the scenario.
AP throwin for A.
Legal held ball between thrower and B1.
Who gets the ball?

Arrow switches when the throwin ends, which happens when ball is legally touched on the playing court. This tells me it should be B's ball, but the devil on my shoulder keeps telling me it should stay with A. What am I missing, 'cause if the devil on my shoulder is right, then that's a precedent I'd love to go forward with.
Quicky answer without consulting book. I say B gets it, as ball is legally touched in bounds and A happens to be out of bounds, therefore violation on A and B gets ball AND AP arrow.

This is of course a product of A sticking the ball across the inbounds plane enabling B to legally grab ball (as you mentioned). I await the high council's ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 267
The throw ends after the ball is touched in bounds, but not if the thrower never releases the ball. The throw in must be released directly into the court, thus since no release, no completed throw in. The arrow is pointing A's direction. They get the ball again for an AP throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 03:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
6.4.5 says not to change the arrow and the subsequent throwin will be an AP throwin for A.
Case book paly 6.4.5SitB to be exact. It's the same play. Good catch.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 03:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I like it when the devil on my shoulder is correct. thanks.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Quicky answer without consulting book. I say B gets it, as ball is legally touched in bounds and A happens to be out of bounds, therefore violation on A and B gets ball AND AP arrow.

This is of course a product of A sticking the ball across the inbounds plane enabling B to legally grab ball (as you mentioned). I await the high council's ruling.

Full, your full of it........

7.6.4 SITUATION F: Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the end-line plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back. RULING: There is no player or team control during a throw in, therefore a held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I like it when the devil on my shoulder is correct. thanks.
But if he's correct, he's not a devil! The devil only deals in half-truths.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 05:26pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I like it when the devil on my shoulder is correct. thanks.
What in the world are you doing with M&M Guy on your shoulder? That has GOT to result in some serious chiropractor time!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 05:34pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30
Full, your full of it........

7.6.4 SITUATION F: Thrower A1 inadvertently holds the ball through the end-line plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back. RULING: There is no player or team control during a throw in, therefore a held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball.
You're full of it too!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 06:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
But if he's correct, he's not a devil! The devil only deals in half-truths.
I only reported about half of what he said. The rest was pretty high praise for some ref named "Chuck."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I only reported about half of what he said. The rest was pretty high praise for some ref named "Chuck."
...half-truth...high praise... chuck... way, way too easy...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 06:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
What in the world are you doing with M&M Guy on your shoulder? That has GOT to result in some serious chiropractor time!!
Word.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 06:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
...half-truth...high praise... chuck... way, way too easy...
You're right. I should have known which half was the truth.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1