The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Charge and a block on the same play

Last night's varsity game, the dribbler collided with his defender. One ref signaled block, and the other ref signaled charge. They got together and gave a foul to each of them, and went to the possession arrow. I assume they got it right? Never seen this before.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
That is correct under NFHS interpretations.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 01:52pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,286
Wink I am too lazy to type it out.

Casebook play 4.19.8 Situation C.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill
Last night's varsity game, the dribbler collided with his defender. One ref signaled block, and the other ref signaled charge. They got together and gave a foul to each of them, and went to the possession arrow. I assume they got it right? Never seen this before.
They got it right a couple of years ago, but today we would go with the POI for all double fouls.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
That is correct under NFHS interpretations.
You may want to rethink your answer or read the caseplay cited by JRut.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
You may want to rethink your answer or read the caseplay cited by JRut.
You're absolutely right - I only responded to the part about going with a double foul - didn't read through the entire sitch.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 02:13pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,286
The play I referenced had the ball go in the basket. The coach did not tell us if the ball went into the basket. It is still possible that there would be an AP arrow if the ball did not go through the basket. POI is when there is possession or team control. There is no team control on a shot. It just depends based on the information we have.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 02:14pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill
Last night's varsity game, the dribbler collided with his defender. One ref signaled block, and the other ref signaled charge. They got together and gave a foul to each of them, and went to the possession arrow. I assume they got it right? Never seen this before.
Coach, some of the posters are dropping hints without telling you what is wrong with that ruling. Since both fouls are assessed, it's a double foul and play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since you use the term "dribbler" and not "shooter", we're assuming that no shot was involved. If the dribbler didn't release a shot, then the dribbler's team still had team control. In that case, the point of interruption is a throw-in for the team in control (the dribbler's team).

If the dribbler had released a try before the collision, then team control ended and the POI depends on whether the try is successful or not.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 45
I refer to this play as player control and a block. Not charging. Actually charging can be a defender.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:58pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by texaspaul
I refer to this play as player control and a block. Not charging. Actually charging can be a defender.
Or my wife at the mall.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by texaspaul
I refer to this play as player control and a block. Not charging. Actually charging can be a defender.
It's not a player control foul.

A player control foul is a common foul.

Since this is a double foul, neither foul can be a common foul.

Therefore, it is not a player control foul.

Further, if the ball is shot before the foul and goes in, it counts.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
You may want to rethink your answer or read the caseplay cited by JRut.
You might to re-think yours, Joe.

If the shot is released before either foul occurs and is no good, then you penalize both fouls and go to the AP arrow. SO the OP could very well have been enforced correctly.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 23, 2008, 10:39pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill
Last night's varsity game, the dribbler collided with his defender. One ref signaled block, and the other ref signaled charge. They got together and gave a foul to each of them, and went to the possession arrow. I assume they got it right? Never seen this before.

AAAAGGGHHH!!! A BLARGE!! RUN FOR YOUR LIVES!!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 04:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: US
Posts: 15
Blarge...

Yuck!!!!

Hold Your Whistle
__________________
Take care of business
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 08:30am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyCrawford
Blarge...

Yuck!!!!

Hold Your Whistle
Nothing wrong with a double whistle. Hold your signal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block, Charge or Both!!! Teigan Basketball 27 Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:40am
Block/Charge IREFU2 Basketball 28 Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm
Block/charge 164troyave Basketball 41 Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm
Block/Charge drinkeii Basketball 16 Thu Dec 19, 2002 01:05am
Block/Charge (here we go again) JAdams Basketball 14 Thu Nov 16, 2000 03:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1