The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2008, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudwhistle
kbilla,
Can you explain when you call traveling when people from the same team come down with the rebound, I've been calling traveling if either moves their feet once they're on the floor and they both are still hanging onto the ball. Is this right?
It is travelling if either player commits a traveling violation, but not if either player pivots correctly. So, each player may move one foot while still holding on to the ball. Case 4.44.2 sit B.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2008, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 29
You put your right foot in.....

Quote:
So, each player may move one foot while still holding on to the ball
Then if they continue this way, you do the hokey pokey...maybe get the whole gym involved....should be fun
__________________
my bad, my bad......or was it yours?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
Shot goes up and there is a scrum for the rebound. From C I have a clear shot directly through the middle of the lane and can see that two whites have tied up the ball and are trying to pull it away from one another (and yes each moved both feet)...they are on L's side of the floor, but they have their backs to the L official. There is a blue player in the vicinity, he could possibly be reaching in with a hand, but he is positively, 100% not part of the tie-up...L blows it dead and calls a held ball. What would you have done from C?
Hit the whistle before the Lead and called traveling.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Hit the whistle before the Lead and called traveling.
What about trusting my partner to make that call on the play right in front of him? It is tough to 1) see the play 2) determine that your partner is screened and 3) decide that you are going to reach in to his primary, right in front of him and make that call all in about what .2 or .3 seconds? Again he did make the call fairly quickly, I didn't have much of a chance to help him. I thought it was the right thing to do after the fact to get it right..
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
What about trusting my partner to make that call on the play right in front of him? It is tough to 1) see the play 2) determine that your partner is screened and 3) decide that you are going to reach in to his primary, right in front of him and make that call all in about what .2 or .3 seconds? Again he did make the call fairly quickly, I didn't have much of a chance to help him. I thought it was the right thing to do after the fact to get it right..
That's where being a really awesome official comes in handy.

Now if you'll pardon me, I have to go have my morning OJ and humble pills.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Fri Jan 11, 2008 at 09:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
kbilla, can you tell me how you guys came to the conclusion that you were going to call a travel instead of the jump ball? I'm with Nevada & the other poster who said you should've came in with either the jump ball or travel since you had the best look. But since you didn't have air in your whistle and your partner calls a jump ball (by your opinion, quickly), which you in turn provide information that it wasn't a jump ball, which is why the whistle was blown, how does your partner and you for that matter, change it to a travel?

If I have a jump ball and blow my whistle for it, and my partner comes in and tells me that the opposing player never had his hand on the ball and it was 2 players from the same team, I am either going to give it back to the team who had possesion when the whistle was blown and call it an inadvertant whistle, or I'm going to call it a jump ball.

Now if we have a double whistle and I have a jump and you have a travel, then I can go with the travel, that wasn't the case though.

Last edited by JoeTheRef; Fri Jan 11, 2008 at 09:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That's were being a really awesome official comes in handy.

Now if you'll pardon me, I have to go have my morning OJ and humble pills.
Ha ha no wonder you're on me for putting .4 back, a really awesome official would have had the superman vision to visually see each 10th click off and would have known that it was not .4, but .5 left!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 10:46am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Now if we have a double whistle and I have a jump and you have a travel, then I can go with the travel, that wasn't the case though.
Care to explain how you can go with the travel over the jump ball, rule-wise?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
kbilla, can you tell me how you guys came to the conclusion that you were going to call a travel instead of the jump ball? I'm with Nevada & the other poster who said you should've came in with either the jump ball or travel since you had the best look. But since you didn't have air in your whistle and your partner calls a jump ball (by your opinion, quickly), which you in turn provide information that it wasn't a jump ball, which is why the whistle was blown, how does your partner and you for that matter, change it to a travel?

If I have a jump ball and blow my whistle for it, and my partner comes in and tells me that the opposing player never had his hand on the ball and it was 2 players from the same team, I am either going to give it back to the team who had possesion when the whistle was blown and call it an inadvertant whistle, or I'm going to call it a jump ball.

Now if we have a double whistle and I have a jump and you have a travel, then I can go with the travel, that wasn't the case though.
We came to the conclusion because it WAS a travel. I see what you are saying that since I didn't make the travel call initially that you are asserting that we lose the option of going with the travel, but to me it comes down to my partner making a call that didn't make any sense and I thought we all saved a lot of credibility by fixing it. Your point about an IW is interesting, I hadn't thought of it....like I said not sure that I would do this again, have to consider the partner...
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2008, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Care to explain how you can go with the travel over the jump ball, rule-wise?
If we have a double whistle where I call a jump ball and my partner (lets call him kbilla) calls a travel. When kbilla and I come together, and even if we don't come together, kbilla states to me so everyone hears him, "I have a travel Joe, there wasn't a time-up, 2 players from the same team had possession" I'm going with kbilla's travel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
jump ball oc Basketball 20 Wed Nov 21, 2007 10:27am
Jump Ball sm_bbcoach Basketball 9 Tue Jan 10, 2006 01:26am
Question -- Jump ball right after opening Jump ball bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:42pm
Jump ball zanzibar Basketball 16 Thu Jan 20, 2005 05:49pm
Jump Ball: Possession Arrow vs. Actual Jump Ball KingTripleJump Basketball 21 Thu Feb 12, 2004 08:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1