The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 01:41am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Close to infinite? Now THAT is a big gym!
Yup; it's kinda like some football goal lines. The designated spot throw-in is 3' wide, wrapping around the earth.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I had a throw-in spot violation yesterday. Girl starts to run the baseline, I whistle it, and she says, "you didn't say 'Spot'!" I said, "it's still a violation."

What I wanted to say was, "if I didn't say 'don't push her,' would that not be a foul?" But as in nearly all cases on the court, the irony was best kept to myself.

According to my partner, I did say "spot," though I don't recall (senator).

Weird thing was, I think she was the only person all day to run the baseline.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
I had a throw-in spot violation yesterday. Girl starts to run the baseline, I whistle it, and she says, "you didn't say 'Spot'!" I said, "it's still a violation."

What I wanted to say was, "if I didn't say 'don't push her,' would that not be a foul?" But as in nearly all cases on the court, the irony was best kept to myself.

According to my partner, I did say "spot," though I don't recall (senator).

Weird thing was, I think she was the only person all day to run the baseline.
Just curious, if you didn't give her a visual and/or verbal signal that it was a spot throw-in, you still give her the violation? I'm assuming this is a FED rules game. I am also assuming that you didn't know if you did or didn't at the time of the violation, but was told by your partner after the fact.

I ask because if I didn't give a verbal or a visual signal (I usually give both) and the girl starts to run, I'm blowing the whistle and calling her back and readministering. We are required to give a verbal and visual signal for spot throw-ins when the clock is stopped (which I think is all the time for a spot throw-in). Again FED mechanics.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 11:39pm
PYRef
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Just curious, if you didn't give her a visual and/or verbal signal that it was a spot throw-in, you still give her the violation? I'm assuming this is a FED rules game. I am also assuming that you didn't know if you did or didn't at the time of the violation, but was told by your partner after the fact.

I ask because if I didn't give a verbal or a visual signal (I usually give both) and the girl starts to run, I'm blowing the whistle and calling her back and readministering. We are required to give a verbal and visual signal for spot throw-ins when the clock is stopped (which I think is all the time for a spot throw-in). Again FED mechanics.
This hasn't been specifically addressed by our board that I know of but I usually always just point to a spot before I give the ball to the player. That being said, even if I don't, and she takes off running the baseline, I'm probably calling the violation. The players should know it's a spot throw-in. The only time I usually say something to a player is in a sitch like after a TO after a made basket. When I administer the throw-in, I remind them they can run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2007, 11:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by PYRef
This hasn't been specifically addressed by our board that I know of but I usually always just point to a spot before I give the ball to the player. That being said, even if I don't, and she takes off running the baseline, I'm probably calling the violation. The players should know it's a spot throw-in. The only time I usually say something to a player is in a sitch like after a TO after a made basket. When I administer the throw-in, I remind them they can run the baseline.
Me 2.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 06:47am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
J
I ask because if I didn't give a verbal or a visual signal (I usually give both) and the girl starts to run, I'm blowing the whistle and calling her back and readministering. We are required to give a verbal and visual signal for spot throw-ins when the clock is stopped (which I think is all the time for a spot throw-in). Again FED mechanics.
Lah me.......

The visual signal for a spot throw-in simply tells everybody where the throw-in is supposed to be. Period. End of story. It has absolutely nothing to do with what happens when you actually administer the throw-in.

Btw, what do you do if you give the visual signal and the team doesn't provide a thrower? Count to 5-seconds and then re-administer that too? If the thrower steps in-bounds with the ball after you gave the visual signal, is that a do-over too?

You're over-thinking the hell outa this play, Joe.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Lah me.......

The visual signal for a spot throw-in simply tells everybody where the throw-in is supposed to be. Period. End of story. It has absolutely nothing to do with what happens when you actually administer the throw-in.

Btw, what do you do if you give the visual signal and the team doesn't provide a thrower? Count to 5-seconds and then re-administer that too? If the thrower steps in-bounds with the ball after you gave the visual signal, is that a do-over too?

You're over-thinking the hell outa this play, Joe.
By the official's manual, I am required to give a verbal and visual signal for a spot throw-in, and I am only speaking about the endline (since we are talking about running). If the thrower is available and I forget to do this and she starts to run, then I am going to whistle her back immediately and "do over" correctly, because I screwed up.

If the thrower is not available, I am signaling spot, placing the ball on the floor and starting my count. If he/she runs, then it will be a violation.

This is the reason why my partners and I communicate how and where the ball will be put back into play on the endline, after the timeout (spot or run). Again, I speak for myself and the crew i will be working with for any game.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 07:53am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
By the official's manual, I am required to give a verbal and visual signal for a spot throw-in, and I am only speaking about the endline (since we are talking about running). If the thrower is available and I forget to do this and she starts to run, then I am going to whistle her back immediately and "do over" correctly, because I screwed up.
Signal #7 is used to denote where the spot is going to be after you blow your whistle for anything at any time during the game. You're simply telling everybody where the throw-in is. That signal is supposed to be used for any boundary line, not just an end line. If a player runs up the sideline after you've designated a spot, is that a do-over too?

If you do what you're recommending, you're screwing up even worse. You're screwing the other team by not calling a very obvious violation. Your interpretation is wrong.

Might be wise to go to your local rules interpreter on this one,folks, before you even think about following that advice.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
By the official's manual, I am required to give a verbal and visual signal for a spot throw-in, and I am only speaking about the endline (since we are talking about running). If the thrower is available and I forget to do this and she starts to run, then I am going to whistle her back immediately and "do over" correctly, because I screwed up.

If the thrower is not available, I am signaling spot, placing the ball on the floor and starting my count. If he/she runs, then it will be a violation.

This is the reason why my partners and I communicate how and where the ball will be put back into play on the endline, after the timeout (spot or run). Again, I speak for myself and the crew i will be working with for any game.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Joe, I see two issues here: one concerns whether I said "spot," and the other concerns the violation.

My partner assures me that I did say "spot." The player complained that I didn't. I don't recall, although I will add that I routinely do say it.

So assume that I didn't. In that case, I failed to follow the prescribed mechanics. Fair enough.

My failing to follow prescribed mechanics does not, however, excuse the violation. Players are expected to know the rules (ha). The purpose of our mechanic in this case is to help the players, not to grant or withhold a permission (to run the baseline). Ultimately, the responsibility for knowing when they can run the baseline lies with them.

I can understand giving the girl a break because I made a mistake. That thought occurred to me at the time. But I decided, ultimately, that since she's responsible for knowing the rule, I would enforce the violation.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
By the official's manual, I am required to give a verbal and visual signal for a spot throw-in, and I am only speaking about the endline (since we are talking about running). If the thrower is available and I forget to do this and she starts to run, then I am going to whistle her back immediately and "do over" correctly, because I screwed up.
Again, I was very specific about when, where and why I would do the "do over".

If I give a verbal or even if I give only a visual spot on the sideline and that person wants to run up and down the sideline than I am violating that person. Shoot, if I give ONLY a visual on the endline in my above scenario, i am violating that person. If I don't give ANYTHING, when I am required to, then I will do what I said I would. Again, I would recommend everyone do as they feel what is right. Then again, this doesn't happen much, if ever, in my games. I have the same mechanic on the endline for every throw-in when the clock is stopped, eye-to-eye contact with each partner, signal/say spot or run, whistle, hand ball (if we're staying) bounce ball (if we're going).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
Again, I was very specific about when, where and why I would do the "do over".
Are you aware that it was stated in the NFHS officials manual this year that there are no "do-overs?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
If I give a verbal or even if I give only a visual spot on the sideline and that person wants to run up and down the sideline than I am violating that person. Shoot, if I give ONLY a visual on the endline in my above scenario, i am violating that person.
That seems rather harsh. Could you just give the ball to the other team and leave the poor kid alone?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 09:06am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
If I give a verbal or even if I give only a visual spot on the sideline and that person wants to run up and down the sideline than I am violating that person.
Are you saying that if you give a verbal AND a visual on a sideline throw-in though, you are NOT going to call a violation if a thrower runs up the sideline? Same as what you would do on the endline?

Signal #7 for a designated spot and the verbal for it are the same on ANY boundary line.

You are completely wrong on this, Joe.

Btw, what signal do you use to designate the starting spot for an unrestricted endline throw-in?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 10:32am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
By the official's manual, I am required to give a verbal and visual signal for a spot throw-in, and I am only speaking about the endline (since we are talking about running). If the thrower is available and I forget to do this and she starts to run, then I am going to whistle her back immediately and "do over" correctly, because I screwed up.
Those are your exact words, Joe. That's what you advocated.

You are advocating a do-over after a player has committed an obvious violation. You are advocating officials to completely ignore NFHS rule 9-2-1.

In my opinion, you do not understand what the mechanic entails. Your advice above is wrong, again imo. Also, imo, the "newer officials and officials who aren't sure" shouldn't believe me or you. They should check with their local rules interpreter.

Is that clear enough for you?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 17, 2007, 10:34am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
I ask because if I didn't give a verbal or a visual signal (I usually give both) and the girl starts to run, I'm blowing the whistle and calling her back and readministering.
Again, that's what you advocated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on inbound play Quahogboy Basketball 15 Mon Dec 11, 2006 07:49am
Inbound spot on tech (NFHS) mplagrow Basketball 6 Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:43am
legal inbound play?? MN 3 Sport Ref Basketball 24 Thu Jan 15, 2004 04:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1