![]() |
|
|
|||
I don't think the rules really anticipate this kind of accident. They are written to address "normal" game play situations. So we're expected to apply some common sense when unusual things happen. For example, there is an NFSH case play about a free thrower who fumbles the ball into the lane (arguably a similar kind of situation), and the ruling is to blow it dead and reset. I think the way it was handled is within the spirit of the rules and acceptable.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
I'm pretty sure this would be considered an accidental loss of control, a fumble. We have guidelines for fumbles in these kinds of situations. NCAA has a case play for an inbounder who fumbles the ball, which bounces outside of a designated spot. Blow the whistle and re-administer.
NFHS has a case play for a free thrower who fumbles the ball into the lane. Blow the whistle and re-administer. This case, IMHO, would be handled similarly. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fouling an inbounder who is not a thrower? | HawkeyeCubP | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 08, 2007 03:43pm |
inbounder touching ball | shont | Basketball | 2 | Wed Dec 01, 2004 03:23pm |
Inbounder possession | TriggerMN | Basketball | 11 | Tue Feb 11, 2003 01:31pm |
What's legal with a 2nd inbounder after a made basket? | jayedgarwho | Basketball | 24 | Fri Jan 31, 2003 02:16pm |
Bouncing Ball to inbounder | Rookie | Basketball | 3 | Mon Jan 22, 2001 01:37pm |