The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inbounder slips (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/39798-inbounder-slips.html)

Coach Bill Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:45pm

Inbounder slips
 
NCAA basketball game I was watching last night. Forgot the teams playing but I think it was George Mason/Kansas State. Anyway, after a made basket, the inbounding team grabbed the ball, went out of bounds, and slipped (falling to the floor). The ball rolled inbounds. The official blew his whistle and gave them the ball back. I think it was the right thing to do, but was it the right call according to the rules?

rainmaker Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill
NCAA basketball game I was watching last night. Forgot the teams playing but I think it was George Mason/Kansas State. Anyway, after a made basket, the inbounding team grabbed the ball, went out of bounds, and slipped (falling to the floor). The ball rolled inbounds. The official blew his whistle and gave them the ball back. I think it was the right thing to do, but was it the right call according to the rules?

Around her (Portland Oregon) in high school, it would be acceptable. I don't know a rule reference, though.

Back In The Saddle Fri Nov 23, 2007 01:32pm

I don't think the rules really anticipate this kind of accident. They are written to address "normal" game play situations. So we're expected to apply some common sense when unusual things happen. For example, there is an NFSH case play about a free thrower who fumbles the ball into the lane (arguably a similar kind of situation), and the ruling is to blow it dead and reset. I think the way it was handled is within the spirit of the rules and acceptable.

Scrapper1 Fri Nov 23, 2007 01:54pm

I'm pretty sure this would be considered an accidental loss of control, a fumble. We have guidelines for fumbles in these kinds of situations. NCAA has a case play for an inbounder who fumbles the ball, which bounces outside of a designated spot. Blow the whistle and re-administer.

NFHS has a case play for a free thrower who fumbles the ball into the lane. Blow the whistle and re-administer.

This case, IMHO, would be handled similarly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1