The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2002, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Slider
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef do you contend that he may place the ball on the floor, and then roll (pass) it to himself?
Do you contend that a player cannot tap a rebound into the air several times, to himself?
Just as when a dribbler sometimes never catches a ball, but taps a pass to the floor and goes...If the rebounder controls his taps, he is in control of the ball.

Now, are you going to answer my previous question. Let us say that he placed the ball on the floor, paused, and then tapped it to start the roll (the pass) to himself. Is that traveling if he runs and then recovers the ball?
A player has player control when he is holding or dribbling the ball.
Tapping a pass to the floor is the start of a dribble.
Tapping a rebound in the air in not player control.
Tapping the ball while it's rolling on the floor is not player control.
Placing the ball on the floor means the player had player control.
Then tapping it as it rolled would constitute a self pass and traveling.
This is not what happened in the original post.
There was no player control in the original post.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1