Thread: TRAVELING?
View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2002, 12:43am
Slider Slider is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
I guess I mean that to start an air dribble requires a toss into the air
O.K., say he never catches the ball: He "controls" a rebound by tapping it in the air to himself, and then continues tapping it just above his hand at waist level. Since he isn't in control, he can run down the court tapping it (just above his hand). NO TRAVEL

Now, say he did catch the rebound. Then starts tapping it at waist level. Then runs down court tapping it just above his hand. TRAVEL

How can you have a travel in one, and not the other?

These dribble rules operate the same for an "air dribble" and a ground dribble, i.e., if I tap a pass to the ground and keep dribbling, then I have player control, even though I never caught the ball.

The difference is an "air dribble" is traveling: you are moving your pivot, while in control, and you aren't dribbling (legal ground dribbles).

Clear as ink and mud.


[Edited by Slider on Jan 30th, 2002 at 11:51 PM]
Reply With Quote