Thread: TRAVELING?
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2002, 12:38am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Slider
I never contended that this situation is an exact mirror of the original post; this is MY scenario.
With the exception of the question that I asked you, all of my replies were addressing the original post in this thread.

Quote:
Now, you said regarding my scenario:

"Placing the ball on the floor means the player had player control.
Then tapping it as it rolled would constitute a self pass and traveling"

And I said that he placed the ball on the floor and paused.

So, while the ball is on the floor during this pause, does the player have control?

If the answer to that is NO, when does he first regain control?
This is like asking which came first, the chicken or the egg. As we discussed in a different thread, the rule book does not clearly define player control when a player places the ball on the floor, when he tosses it to himself, or when he passes and retrieves it. Without an example in the case book, I'm inclined not to call traveling. The orignal play is legal. Your play is traveling, based on the case play that I previously cited, 4.15.4e.

I don't think we disagree although you seem to want to.

If a player places the ball on the floor, rolls it and retrieves it, he has gained an advantage and he has traveled. But I don't see an advantage gained when a player places the ball on the floor, bends to tie a shoe, and then picks the ball up again. I don't believe he's traveled. But that's just me.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote