Thread: TRAVELING?
View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2002, 12:54pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by michaelj23
Player has control of ball (with dribble still available) and places the ball on the floor, then:
A) taps ball with one hand, steps (more than two) & retrieves ball (with two hands) then begins dribble
B) picks up ball & begins to dribble

Ruling is what & why?

For me:
a & b) I'd call double-dribble before travelling. Player begins the dribble with the placement of the ball to the floor. Can't have travelling while dribbling (play A), so nothing on the roll & walk. Picks up ball, the dribble ends (A & B). Begins dribbling - violation - double dribble.
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
mj, I would agree with that interpretation. Once put on the floor, it has been dribbled. Pick it up and your dribble is ended, no more dribble allowed.
I'm afraid that's not true, gentlemen. Placing the ball on the floor is not a dribble.

4-15-3
The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor.

Notice that the rule does not say that a dribble is started by placing the ball on the floor.

In mj's play A), the player has traveled. In B), we have nothing, legal play.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote