Thread: TRAVELING?
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2002, 09:56am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Slider
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
If A1 is standing and continuously tapping the ball up with his hand (in a manner eerily reminiscent of the "air dribble"), does this player have control of the ball? ///]Yes..no..yes..no..yes..no..yes....(credit to Mick)..My answer is the same as BktBallRef's. No control on a rebound.
O.K., say he never catches the ball: He "controls" the rebound by tapping it in the air to himself, and then continues tapping it just above his hand at waist level. Since he isn't in control, he can run down the court tapping it (just above his hand). NO TRAVEL

Now, say he did catch the rebound. Then starts tapping it at waist level. Then runs down court tapping it just above his hand. TRAVEL

How can you have a travel in one, and not the other?

Slider,you can't have player control without team control.R4-12-5 says team control does not exist during the touching of a rebound,but is re-established when a player SECURES control.See casebook 4-12Comment for explanation,too.Now take a look at Casebook 4-15-1SituationA and 4-15-4SituationE.The key phrase in 4-15-1A is"Legal--the dribble does not begin until A1 has gained control".No control=no pivot foot.In 4-15-4E,the player has control and a pivot foot.That's why one is OK,and the other is a travel.Make a little more sense now?
Reply With Quote