The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
For the very same reason as the original post here - the ball is not in possession of A1.
In both situations the ball is NOT in physical (holding) possession of A1. It's on the floor. In #2 only when A1 starts to bend down to pick it up is when B touches it.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
I think I'd go with the delay warning. A better method (although no foundation in the rulesbook) might be to "T" the throwing team for being stupid enough to leave the ball unattended and lead us into a mess like that.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
In both situations the ball is NOT in physical (holding) possession of A1. It's on the floor. In #2 only when A1 starts to bend down to pick it up is when B touches it.
Well, the difference was that A1 had already possessed the ball before putting it back down. And I, personally, don't agree with that interpretation. I've got a delay warning in both cases, IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junker
A better method (although no foundation in the rulesbook) might be to "T" the throwing team for being stupid enough to leave the ball unattended and lead us into a mess like that.
Rule 11-4-2c ... doing anything that really annoys the official.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Rule 11-4-2c ... doing anything that really annoys the official.
Hey, that's a new one.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Hey, that's a new one.
Yea, that's only the Fed reference. I don't know NCAA or FIBA.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Yea, that's only the Fed reference. I don't know NCAA or FIBA.
Same in NCAA, rule 11.

In FIBA, it's a metric reference, so I'll let Padgett covert it.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 09:57am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Is Rule 11 like the missing Books from the Bible? How do I go about receiving the latest copy...
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It was not my intent to have people get hung up on debating whether or not this action constitutes a pass. Therefore, I will slightly change the play.

1. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in, but Team A does not make a thrower immediately available so the official sounds the whistle and places the ball on the floor. B1 is confused and reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.

2. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. The official hands the ball to A1 and he sets the ball down on the floor between his legs, but he is not touching the ball, and proceeds to give hand signals to his teammates for two seconds. When he starts to bend down to pick up the ball, B1 reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.
I do not differentiate between case 1 or 2. Meaning to me they are both the same. In each case the ball was at the disposal of the thrower-in and in each case Team B crosses the boundary and grabs the ball. My immediate thoughts are a T. However, if I am bound by the word "possession" in the rule, then I am left with a delay on Team B or blow the play dead and start over.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
I do not differentiate between case 1 or 2. Meaning to me they are both the same. In each case the ball was at the disposal of the thrower-in and in each case Team B crosses the boundary and grabs the ball. My immediate thoughts are a T. However, if I am bound by the word "possession" in the rule, then I am left with a delay on Team B or blow the play dead and start over.
"Possession" here isn't defined. If A1 sets the ball down for a moment, he's still in possession even if he's not holding it at the moment. To me, #2 is a T.

I'm still not sure on #1, so I'd probably just give the warning; unless A1 was about to pick the ball up, then I'd give the T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
Is Rule 11 like the missing Books from the Bible? How do I go about receiving the latest copy...
Great. Now we have apocryphal rules?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Following a goal by Team B, A1 collects the ball and steps OOB. He does not attempt to make a throw-in pass, but merely places the ball down on the floor and leaves. It is unclear why. Perhaps another teammate is supposed to come along, pick it up, and make the throw-in pass. However, in the meantime the official has begun the five-second count and B1, who is standing inbounds, reaches through the throw-in boundary plane and picks up the ball. He then attempts to score a goal.

The official sounds the whistle and:
1. gives a team delay of game warning for breaking the boundary plane.
2. gives a team delay of game warning AND a charges B1 with a technical foul.

Vote for #1 or #2 and give rules support.
I want to add:

3. gives a team delay of game warning for interfering with the ball following a goal...4-47-3


This is my take on this
#1 is not correct 9-2-10 The opponent of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundry... Since there is no thrower this rule can't be applied.

After reading the second situation submitted, I withdraw this statement and opt for the boundary plane warning based on the premise that a thrower does not have to be physically present to have a violation just as no thrower has to be physically present to have a 5 second violation.

#2 is incorrect. It is not correct to assess a T because in 9-2-10 penalty 3 the touching/dislodging must be while thrower is in possession of the ball or while the a pass to a teammate is being made.
__________________
Los Angeles Ca
"You can fool some of the people all of the time, all the people some of the time, but not all the people all of the time." - Abraham Lincoln

Last edited by jer166; Wed Oct 31, 2007 at 01:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Isn't possesion and disposal synonymous to one another?
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Isn't possesion and disposal synonymous to one another?
I don't know. Good question. Why didn't the fed say "at the disposal of," or conversely, why didn't they say "while it's being held or passed?"
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Isn't possesion and disposal synonymous to one another?
That has been my logic to this point. It seems we are getting to the point on this forum that if the rule doesnt say the exact wording that meets the exact situtation at that exact moment ...... then what applies? intent applies, advantage / disadvantage applies, case plays apply, similar rulings perhaps... why doesnt possession and disposal in this case? or does it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1