The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Isn't possesion and disposal synonymous to one another?
I don't know. Good question. Why didn't the fed say "at the disposal of," or conversely, why didn't they say "while it's being held or passed?"
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I don't know. Good question. Why didn't the fed say "at the disposal of," or conversely, why didn't they say "while it's being held or passed?"

Valid point you've made about the wording.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Isn't possesion and disposal synonymous to one another?
That has been my logic to this point. It seems we are getting to the point on this forum that if the rule doesnt say the exact wording that meets the exact situtation at that exact moment ...... then what applies? intent applies, advantage / disadvantage applies, case plays apply, similar rulings perhaps... why doesnt possession and disposal in this case? or does it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
That has been my logic to this point. It seems we are getting to the point on this forum that if the rule doesnt say the exact wording that meets the exact situtation at that exact moment ...... then what applies? intent applies, advantage / disadvantage applies, case plays apply, similar rulings perhaps... why doesnt possession and disposal in this case? or does it?
Agreed,

I can only speak for me. I know if I place the ball on the floor it's in possesion or disposal of the team. If they violate then the other team gets the ball and vice versa or get penalize appropiately.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 01:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
I am not sure this was addressed since some of the rule ref numbers have changed in the new book, but in this original case wouldnt the 2006-07 Rule 9-2 Art. 1... The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. , have killed the play before B1 reached across and grabbed the ball?
It's an endline throwin, there is no designated throwin spot, there is no designated thrower. A1 can give the ball to A2 and then release down the court to receive a pass.

Short answer to your question: No.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Ha thanks Snaqs.... read right over that.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Hey it gave me a good excuse to try out the delete button... works!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
The rules still states that A1 must pass the ball directly onto the court or pass it to a teammate already OOB...A1 did neither, they put the ball on the floor with no teammate OOB or even moving to the ball OOB.

I'm handling this the same way I would if A1 was passing to A2 inbounds and the ball landed OOB...throw-in violation on team A for failing to pass it directly inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 02:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
The rules still states that A1 must pass the ball directly onto the court or pass it to a teammate already OOB...A1 did neither, they put the ball on the floor with no teammate OOB or even moving to the ball OOB.

I'm handling this the same way I would if A1 was passing to A2 inbounds and the ball landed OOB...throw-in violation on team A for failing to pass it directly inbounds.
Can A1 roll the ball to A2? How is that intrinsically different than setting it down for A2 to pick up?
Can A1 bounce (dribble) the ball? How is that different than setting it down and picking it back up himself?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Can A1 roll the ball to A2? How is that intrinsically different than setting it down for A2 to pick up?
Can A1 bounce (dribble) the ball? How is that different than setting it down and picking it back up himself?
A1 didn't pass, roll, bounce, hand the ball to A2, A2 wasn't in the scenario at all that's the difference.

A1 didn't dribble, A1 didn't pick it back up, they left that's the difference.

You can make an argument to support any of the 3 warning, T, violation on team A...my stance is team A did not follow the throw-in provisions and that occurred before B1 picked up the ball.

In terms of common sense officiating blowing the cluster **** dead and getting a thrower OOB with the ball is probably the wisest choice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1