Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It was not my intent to have people get hung up on debating whether or not this action constitutes a pass. Therefore, I will slightly change the play.
1. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in, but Team A does not make a thrower immediately available so the official sounds the whistle and places the ball on the floor. B1 is confused and reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.
2. The throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. The official hands the ball to A1 and he sets the ball down on the floor between his legs, but he is not touching the ball, and proceeds to give hand signals to his teammates for two seconds. When he starts to bend down to pick up the ball, B1 reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball.
|
I do not differentiate between case 1 or 2. Meaning to me they are both the same. In each case the ball was at the disposal of the thrower-in and in each case Team B crosses the boundary and grabs the ball. My immediate thoughts are a T. However, if I am bound by the word "possession" in the rule, then I am left with a delay on Team B or blow the play dead and start over.